Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2007, 05:12 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Has anyone ever wondered..

Ok right, if no-one owns the internet, then how to companies sell domains like they do?

I don't get it.. never understood it, how do they register those domains, and sell them, is there any way for me to get a free domain seeing as how I have a web server at home?
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 07:39 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
boardordi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,392
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

i have never understood how that worked,could be intersting to get an answer
__________________

__________________
We ride, we die {}FORUM 2007{}
boardordi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 07:51 AM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Steff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,435
Send a message via MSN to Steff
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

Who Owns the Internet?

No one actually owns the Internet, and no single person or organization controls the Internet in its entirety. More of a concept than an actual tangible entity, the Internet relies on a physical infrastructure that connects networks to other networks. There are many organizations, corporations, governments, schools, private citizens and service providers that all own pieces of the infrastructure, but there is no one body that owns it all. There are, however, organizations that oversee and standardize what happens on the Internet and assign IP addresses and domain names, such as the National Science Foundation, the Internet Engineering Task Force, ICANN, InterNIC and the Internet Architecture Board.


From Webopedia


EDIT: some more stuff


Quote:
The internet itself, though, works because a bunch of very large companies have a lot of cable laid down, and they all have peering agreements. These basically say "I'll let your traffic over my wires if you let my traffic over your wires." Those large companies form the backbone of the net. From that, 2nd & 3rd level companies will branch out, combine service from 1st level companies, etc, and this will eventually go to the ISPs that you usually use (sometimes a single company will provide multiple steps, although there were originally moves to block this).
Quote:
"the world wide web," which - as mentioned above - is run by ICANN.
Quote:
ICANN manages domain names & IP addresses. They license who can handle domain registries/etc.
__________________
hi, i like eggs.
Steff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 07:55 AM   #4
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 349
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

The same way that the internet is free, and yet we get charged for access to it (I know technically were charged for how we access it, but still)
__________________
Check out this url, its not a scam you really do make money, i've been a part of it for a month and have made $30+ . http://www.treasuretrooper.com/245769
Also check out my Imeem http://infin1ty.imeem.com
Infin1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 12:12 PM   #5
Daemon Poster
 
Ahyoka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,373
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infin1ty View Post
The same way that the internet is free, and yet we get charged for access to it (I know technically were charged for how we access it, but still)
yep...technically you can never access the internet for "free", you pay your ISP like comcast...or at&t or whatever phone/cable company to give you your connection. and even if you were to build your own connection somehow you would be paying more on other stuff like electricity to do it

i guess the saying "there's no free lunch" is true lol
Ahyoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 01:09 PM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,153
Send a message via MSN to DannyBoy
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

Very few things are free these day's,
what this free dial up thing, do they actually give it u for free? I saw it for some ISP's on there websites. Allthough it would be a waist of time for 95% of ppl on this forum.
DannyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 01:17 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePower View Post
Very few things are free these day's,
what this free dial up thing, do they actually give it u for free? I saw it for some ISP's on there websites. Allthough it would be a waist of time for 95% of ppl on this forum.
How would it be a waste of time?

I'm on dialup and pages of this forum load in a second or two, others very quickly too and I can play online games with hardly any lag.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 03:47 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

You're paying for use of their DNS servers. If you want, you can set up your own DNS server and not have to pay for a domain name, but from what I hear it's very complicated.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dns
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:54 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Le GoogelGuRu View Post
How would it be a waste of time?

I'm on dialup and pages of this forum load in a second or two, others very quickly too and I can play online games with hardly any lag.
you can play online games on dial up with no lag .. i get a lag sometimes on 2mb lol.

anyway steffs post is good. +1
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:54 PM   #10
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Has anyone ever wondered..

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyler105 View Post
You're paying for use of their DNS servers. If you want, you can set up your own DNS server and not have to pay for a domain name, but from what I hear it's very complicated.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dns
I have my own DNS server but you have to pay to get the domain registered in the central database and get nameservers setup to point the domain name -> your dns server -> web server
__________________

__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0