Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2008, 06:53 AM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

oh right ....................

well this doesnt look like its gonna work its still stuck and the drive is starting to feel wet by touch
gonna give it a reboot see if its n e diff.

ok jus tried booting from the ide drive itself instead of having it as my 2nd drive,

n it came up invali boot.ini file booting from C:/windows and then its froze on a black screen again,

i think i can almost def say hardrive is dead, im gonna give it a shot in the dark and see if it will let me do a repair windows on it
__________________

__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:07 AM   #12
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

Yeah,You can only try!

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:09 AM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

ummmmm im feeling rather silly lol,

i cant find the repair button,

i tried with home and pro and after i select the drive it jus goes to formatting options, not the usual would you like to repair ????

guess ill try installing pro along side it with no format.

now i really am stuck,

it only gives me ntfs format or ntfs quick format and not, "leave the current file system in tact"

i am really down to my last straw now and i think that will be ubuntu live cd
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:10 AM   #14
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

I think you are meant to press the R Button at some point,i havent done a repair install before so i cant help you here sorry.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:15 AM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

yh well it gives me the option to press R for the recovery console but thats not what i want, im sure after you choose the partition youd like to install it on another windows comes up and says there is allready a copy of windows on this drive do you wish to repair or continue,

or something along the lines of that but its not coming up.

Edit. i think its because my earlier message, the boot.ini file is corrupt so the xp installation is not detecting windows on the hardrive, i may need to repair boot.ini then see if it will let me repair,

after i try my ubuntu c.d, jus buring a fresh one now
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:19 AM   #16
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

Should help.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:20 AM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

lol exactly what i was jus reading which ed me to belive my boot.ini file was corrupt, and the error i got earlier.

Edit, now trying to load ubuntu live and keep getting

buffer i/o error on device sda1, logical block 81
buffer i/o error on device sda1, logical block 88
buffer i/o error on device sda1, logical block 18
well loads of em think i got it on 81-88-89-18-19-20-21-22-23-24-25-32-33-34-35-36

got lots of em and its not booting

dead drive
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:26 AM   #18
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

Yup,The Hardrive has gone up into the big RAID Array in the sky.....
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:28 AM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

what are the chances through windows xp recovery console i could cd to the correct folder and back up the data to another hardrive or usb stick ?
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:29 AM   #20
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Hardrive In Freezer Test

I think it would be quite slim,Seeing as this error:

buffer i/o error on device sda1, logical block 81

Im pretty sure it means the that Input Output controller is stuffing up,therefore i dont think you would get the data of it.....
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0