Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2010, 11:39 AM   #1
In Runtime
 
airsoftkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to airsoftkid
Default Halo 2 working on piece of trash desktop?

Hey guys, I didn't know where to post this, but I was wanting to ask if you guys thought that Halo 2 would run on this computer with the XP patch?

System specs:
2.8 Ghz P4 Processor
1024 Megabytes of RAM
(Here comes the killer) GeForce FX5200 Graphics card

Do you guys think Halo 2 will work on my piece of trash PC?
Let me know, thanks.
__________________

airsoftkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:51 AM   #2
In Runtime
 
thompatry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 145
Default Re: Halo 2 working on piece of trash desktop?

I really don't think this going to run very smoothly. If you do get it to work, you computer is going to have to do some work to make it not laggy. I would try getting some newer parts.
__________________

thompatry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 04:49 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
MetalOverlord76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,012
Default Re: Halo 2 working on piece of trash desktop?

Halo 2 is kind of a funny game. It was designed and created to only work on Windows Vista. Sure, there are patches, but I've read that they won't always work. The best part is that it is purposefully designed in such a way that it is not meant to be compatible with older OR newer operating systems from the same company. If the patch alone would break this un-realistic restriction, I will be surprised.
__________________
Do not trifle with dragons, for you are small and crunchy and taste good with ketchup
MetalOverlord76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 04:54 PM   #4
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Halo 2 working on piece of trash desktop?

It won't work. AFAIK, the only XP patch still requires DX10, which your video card does not support. If you really want halo 2, I suggest you check craigslist and/or garage sales for an xbox. I just got one yesterday for $5, so good deals on them are not uncommon.


Halo 1 might work though. I got it running on my apple iBook with Radeon 9100 graphics a while back.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0