Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 06:25 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default half clone?

well i want to basically send files from my old computer to a new one but not the whole hard drive. i am not just transfering things like word documents or pictures. i need to transfer programs . is there a way to do that?


for example, i am transfering firefox from the old comp onto the new one.
__________________

spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 06:28 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: half clone?

just re download and install firefox. it aint a big file. as for your docs do you have a network?
if not a usb stick?
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 06:36 PM   #3
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: half clone?

It's near impossible to transfer entire programs as you will also need to transfer their many registry entries too. It would be best to just reinstall the needed programs.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 06:44 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: half clone?

Yeah reinstalling the programs is the best way to go. As for the documents, you can put them into a folder, zip it up, and post it on Rapidshare or something like that. Then you can retrieve it. But that will be downloading. If you just want to do it with hardware, then you will have to get some sort of external harddrive, or just a flashdrive.
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 02:04 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: half clone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelis View Post
If you just want to do it with hardware, then you will have to get some sort of external harddrive, or just a flashdrive.
or just take the old hdd and plug it into the new computer.
__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 12:17 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: half clone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mammikoura View Post
or just take the old hdd and plug it into the new computer.
cant do that cuz the new comp is only sata.


i dont want to reinstall because some programs i cant reinstall because they used to be freeware but not anymore.
for example i downloaded videoget a used to be freeware program that downloads youtube vids.
__________________

spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0