Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2014, 07:34 AM   #1
In Runtime
 
Craig Prince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 475
Send a message via Skype™ to Craig Prince
Default Haha

Okay, you have no idea what this thread is by just looking at the title.

I'm basically making this thread because my current old Dell PC broke. By broke I mean the power supply failed. I could replace it for around $100, however next week I'm going to be building my new PC anyway. So no need to do that.

The reason why it costs so much, is because its a custom Dell small form factor PC. So there's only one power supply that would actually fit.

That's about it for now, and I will see you all in about a week. Bye!
__________________

__________________
PC SPECS: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/zY6yyc
Craig Prince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 10:03 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: Haha

Yeah, typical DELL overcharge for their own PSU's and forcing you to buy DELL because of the case having a non standard "fit".

I had a Dell Demention 5000 before i started to built my own computers. I wanted a bigger PSU. So i got one from a friend. I then realized that there was some metal sticking out in the case that made sure that you could only use DELL PSU's with a matching "slot" for that metal piece. I cut it off with a small electric saw. Fit perfectly after that ^^

I called dell before cutting it off to ask what PSU's they had for my case. They had a overpriced 450W PSU. That was the biggest they offered for that case.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 512 + LiteOn LCS-256 - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 04:52 PM   #3
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 342
Default Re: Haha

lol if you're thinking of re-using your dell's motherboard, think again, most of them are not standard atx, itx, etc. it took me an hour of trying to shoehorn it into a case where the screw holes never lined up.
__________________
CPU: Ryzen 1700 GPU: MSI R9 480 4GB
RAM: 16gb DDR4 Disk: 128SSD + 2x1TB
Power: 750w asus prime b350m-a uatx mobo
Cortb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 05:40 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
BikerEcho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: Haha

As for as i know the newer DELL's are ATX, but turned upside down to mach their BTX cases.... pretty fucking stupid if you ask me.
Not to mention that is was DELL that infected the world with their BTX standard.
__________________
MOBO: Asus Maximus 6 Hero - GPU: Gigabyte GTX 980ti xtreme - CPU: I7-4770K - PSU: Corsair AX760
RAM: Corsair Vantage 2x4GB - SSD: Samsung 840 EVO 512 + LiteOn LCS-256 - Case: NZXT H440
BikerEcho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0