Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2008, 07:15 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Guess what guys@!!!

Most of the regulars know I'm in a cable challenged area so I got that Verizon Wireless broadband card. Well when I had got it I'm in a nation access area so I couldn't get connected to the EVDO hi speed network.

Well since the weather broke I decided to order 30 feet of Coax and a 800Mhz Yagi antenna (Review comming soon). I got everything up the other day so I now can connect to full Broadband Rev-A access.

Woot Woot Woot ping times down to 150ms from 800ms and download speeds around 50KB/s vs 16KB/s on Nation access.

I'm in heaven right now! Unreal the difference in response from the lower ping times. Surfing the web is finally not so much a chore.

So what games should I get since I should be able to play online without horrible lag now?

Heres what the antenna looks like.

__________________

ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 07:28 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
culexor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Send a message via AIM to culexor
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

that sucks that you have to use verizon wireless "broadband" card. 50kb/s is bad, 16kb/s is worse. god, i think its time to move to an area with cable. i have 5mbit and get speeds around 600kb/s. god i feel bad for you. but its cool that you did all that to improve your speed, that shows how much of a true geek you are. nice
__________________

__________________
Desktop: Phenom II B50 3.1Ghz, 4GB DDR2 800, Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P, 2x 1TB RAID0, GTX 460 1GB, OCZ 600W, ABS Black Pearl

Laptop: i5 430M 2.26Ghz, 4GB DDR3 1066, 500GB WD Blue, Mobility Radeon HD 5650 1GB (discrete)
culexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 07:30 PM   #3
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

call of duty 4
unreal 3..
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 07:34 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cornholio101 View Post
that sucks that you have to use verizon wireless "broadband" card. 50kb/s is bad, 16kb/s is worse. god, i think its time to move to an area with cable. i have 5mbit and get speeds around 600kb/s. god i feel bad for you. but its cool that you did all that to improve your speed, that shows how much of a true geek you are. nice
LMAO +1 for the Geek Status. I should be able to pull up to 1.8Mbps on a perfect connection.

I've always lived outside of cable or dsl coverage in the country so I've used 56K for most of my life. So going from downloading around 4.5-5KB/s to 16KB/s was a nice step although with the latency it still made gaming worthless. So I'm completely cool with 50KB/s until some other land line finally makes it my way. The second a better option comes my way I'll be the first in the area to jump on it thats for sure.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:38 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

maximum throughput of EVDO rev A is 3.1 mbits... which is like 396kb/s

so you should be getting way more than 50kb/s
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 09:45 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to ߧ∩H♠H䎀
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev View Post
maximum throughput of EVDO rev A is 3.1 mbits... which is like 396kb/s

so you should be getting way more than 50kb/s
Its actually 3.6Mbps and actual theoretics report up to 7.2Mbps though put. It depends on the tower and if its 1 T1 line or 2 T1 lines on the tower. If the tower has only 1 T1 Line its 1.8Mbps and if its dual T1's its 3.6Mbps.

The problem is my signal has to go through hills and trees and its not a clear line of site. Thats why my overall speed isn't as good as it should be. But its a lot better than it was.

Granted I still have quite a bit of actual tuning to do considering the yagi works in under 10 degree increments so I may actually find a better signal.

Considering my HDR Rssi was -115+ and not able to connect dropping down to -85 through -95 Rssi is a huge jump for me. Sometimes it spikes over -100 but will stay connected.

Its by no means as fast as it could be but enough to be able to game and surf on.
ߧ∩H♠H䎀 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 02:04 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

50 kb/s download... thats good ???

but didnt you have dial up before?
when my net gets capped to dial up I literally cry .
__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 07:36 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryman View Post
50 kb/s download... thats good ???

but didnt you have dial up before?
when my net gets capped to dial up I literally cry .
why does it get capped?
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 07:58 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
Bobert93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,449
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

when i go over 25gb
__________________
(ASUS P5E X38)__(Q6600@3.4Ghz)__(Innod3D 8800GTS 512Mb 800/1920)__(4Gb corsair XMS2 800Mhz)__(Antec 900)__(Vista 64Bit)_(Zalman 9700)
{3DMark06 15211}
Bobert93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 11:22 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: Guess what guys@!!!

150 is still pretty laggy, but ya like trivium said, get cod4, best game out right now...
__________________

__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0