Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2009, 05:32 PM   #1
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default GTA4 on pc?

Has anyone tried it on PC and is it any good? Looks good on the ps3 but I'm not sure about the controls on the pc
__________________

__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 05:56 PM   #2
BSOD
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 214
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

I have it for the PC, but i use a 360 controller to play it.

If you have a video card with low amounts of VRam dont expect to be able play on high settings. it limits your max settings based on your VRam usage
__________________

CrazyTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 06:54 PM   #3
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

yeah, it wont let me try maxing out. With my rig on XP, i had to run on medium settings to run it without bad framerates.
which looks worse than my 360 version of the game.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:30 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
tom-knox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,451
Send a message via MSN to tom-knox
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

The game itself is brilliant. I own it on 360 but, having tried it on pc, you'd better be ready for capping unless you've got a monster rig to hand.

Specs = http://frontline-gaming.com/root/?q=node/74
__________________
New laptop:
2.1 Ghz Core 2 Duo processor :: nVidia GT150m :: 15.6" HD LCD :: 4gb RAM :: 320gb HDD

New player: iPhone 4 32gb
tom-knox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:13 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
Spec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,641
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

yeah ive got it on both XBOX and PC, gfs dad bought it for me on accident. but anyways, yeah.i cant max it out, barely can play it on medium settings and it looks really crappy..im just playing it on pc for the mods..controls are fine except in car... like..it doesnt auto target your car or anything..so when turning or doing sharp turns..it sucks..unlike the xbox 360 where it tracks your car
__________________
Thermaltake ARMOR/ mATX intelG33 Motherboard/4gb G.SKILL High Gaming Performance ddr2-1200/Radeon 3870 1gb edition/850w Thermaltake superduty psu

PokerDegenerate: Don't listen to these guys, I like the IDE makes it look vintage like a 68 Camaro SS...
Spec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:19 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
NeXuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,960
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spec View Post
yeah ive got it on both XBOX and PC, gfs dad bought it for me on accident. but anyways, yeah.i cant max it out, barely can play it on medium settings and it looks really crappy..im just playing it on pc for the mods..controls are fine except in car... like..it doesnt auto target your car or anything..so when turning or doing sharp turns..it sucks..unlike the xbox 360 where it tracks your car
With your specs you cant play it on high???

I read that it has a shitload of bugs too...
__________________
//Antec 902 V3 Case, Intel i7-2600K (@4.5GHz 1.280V watercooled w/ Antec H2O Kuhler 920), 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz, ASUS P8P67 PRO B3, MSI 3GB N580 GTX Lightning Xtreme (@850MHz/2100MHz), 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, Corsair HX850W Pro Series//
//XPS 410 C2D E6400 @ 2.13GHz, 2GB DDR2 667MHz, 250GB HD, eVGA 320mb 8800GTS(605/1900MHz)//
//AMD Athlon XP +2000, Socket A MSI-6390, 768 mb of PC 2100 RAM, AGP ATI RADEON 9600SE//

I <3 TrancE
NeXuS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:36 AM   #7
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeXuS View Post
With your specs you cant play it on high???

I read that it has a shitload of bugs too...
yeah. I think gametrailes did an comparison. Max Settings, and they it seems they were lagging a bit, and i think they said something about the performance too. But the Graphics does look better IMO.

PC specs -
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition

45NM "Penryn" Intel C2Q (12MB Cache, 1333mhz FSB) [Didnt specify which kind of C2Q)

790i Chipset SLI Motherboard

4GB DDR3 Dual Channel at 1066mhz

2GB ATI Radeon HD4870 X2
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 05:38 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

The graphics will obviously be better, but the PC version is way too unoptimized and buggy at the moment. I'll be sticking with my Xbox 360 for now, thank you very much.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 06:49 AM   #9
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

I haven't found it to be buggy at all, not after I installed Catalyst 8.12.

Does anyone know if the settings limitation according to VRAM is just a recommendation, or is it enforced? Because it's really stupid.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 08:20 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: GTA4 on pc?

What do you actually do on this game? My cousin has it and all he does is kill random people. lol
__________________

StratosP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0