Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 03-27-2010, 04:50 AM   #1
Fully Optimized

Default Graphic Design/Animation Creation/Video Editing...where to start?

Alright. First off, if the mods want to move this, they can, but I just thought I'd put it in the SL because it's a very laid back, non serious topic. I'm just looking for opinions, rather than any answers.

Anyways, a little background information. I've been working with computers for probably 9 years. My knowledge has increased exponentially--I started off knowing a little, and then before I knew it I was building my own and starting my own little computer shop. However, I'm not sure if I want to go that route. It's fun, I enjoy it, but I'd need a lot of money in order to make it my full time job down the road (i.e. I'd need loans and investments to really have a full-on computer shop somewhere....and that's just risky, IMHO).

Anyways, I've been really trying to find my passion. I'm majoring in Business with a concentration in marketing with the emphasis there in graphic design. I'm double majoring in Social Work. I'm also getting involved--non-collegiately--in Youth Ministry. I enjoy all of those things, but I really like being my own boss. Anyways, long story short, I've got computer design 101 this semester and I'm really liking it. I've worked with photoshop for a very long time, but I just now learned InDesign and I loved it! I'm a perfectionist, so working with that stuff is right up my alley. We designed resumes (yeah, I'm not taking the time to find the stupid "e" characters...I know it's not spelled that way) and mine was the top of the class, getting a 99/100...and she was a really tough grader. The AVERAGE was a C (70/100). So I was feeling pretty good.