Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2007, 03:24 PM   #41
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Are Virgin giving their customers a discount for the channel loss then?
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:34 PM   #42
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
Are Virgin giving their customers a discount for the channel loss then?
They are not reducing the price of packages as their argument is that the channels that they provide are going to increase in content etc, and be a match for sky 1, however as I said in another thread if you phone them to complain, then they will give you a discount.

I got mine reduced by £10 a month
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:35 PM   #43
Fully Optimized
 
UK31337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,776
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

No... Virgin got all arsey and switched the Sky feed off. It's not Sky deliberately withdrawing it, they'd be more than happy for Virgin to keep it. IMO Richard Branson's shot himself in the foot, the damage is already done.

I heard a radio advert today (Internet stream) telling all the Virgin customers to jump ship and join Sky, and Sky are running a special catchup weekend for the Sky One shows that Virgin cut off.

British cable industry RIP.
UK31337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:53 PM   #44
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmonkey
I am with Orange too and have been since they were freeserver. They have recently by the BBC Watchdog been voted the worst ISP. We upgraded the other day to 8 Megs and got a stupid livebox through the post and the internet went down Friday and we got no where on the phone with them.. Bit silly if you ask me all they say is phone back tomorrow.
omg thee dreaded live box did you not have problems setting it up , supposed to be a bitch to set up with wireless on laptops
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 06:22 PM   #45
Fully Optimized
 
blackjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,945
Send a message via MSN to blackjack
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by webmonkey
I am with Orange too and have been since they were freeserver. They have recently by the BBC Watchdog been voted the worst ISP. We upgraded the other day to 8 Megs and got a stupid livebox through the post and the internet went down Friday and we got no where on the phone with them.. Bit silly if you ask me all they say is phone back tomorrow.
I have a friend who upgraded to 8mb broardband on orange and he too had a nightmare trying to set up his live box ,then by a stroke of luck he got talking to the guy next door who was on 8mb orange and still using his speedtouch 330 modem witch isnt supposed to take that speed but it did, so he rang orange, had a row with the lady on the other end of the line aboat using his old modem, telling her his neibour had the same package as his upgrade and it worked fine on the old modem 10min later he was on 8mb with out even using his live box so you too could try it
__________________
Compaq Presario CQ5305K-m Intel® Pentium® Dual Core E5300 (2.6 GHz), Windows® 7 Home Premium 64 bit, 2048 MB , Hard drive: 320 Gb, with 18.5 Widescreen
SPURS TILL I DIE (DIAMONDS ARE FOREVER SO ARE SPURS)
TO DARE IS TO DO
blackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 07:02 PM   #46
Daemon Poster
 
Anubis1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,308
Send a message via MSN to Anubis1980 Send a message via Yahoo to Anubis1980
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Im running a mile from Orange, when i was a student had a mobile fone with them ,they told me i owed 200 pounds cos i didnt disconnect my contract (altho i did) eventually after many hours of arguing they agreed to waive the fee. Phoned next week to ask why 200 had gone out of my account, and they flat out called me a liar, said we would never agree to such a thing. Got me sooooooo mad. I'd been with them ever since id had a mobile 3 years before, neer again will i go near orange.

My bro is pretty much ready to go and kill all Orange employees over his broadband and telephone.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 (1333fsb) 2.66 @3.5ghz |EVGA 680i SLI Mobo | 2GB Twin XMS ddr800 @ 875 | Leadtek 7950 GX2 Core@601 Mem@1600
500GB IBM/HITACHI Sata2 7200/16MB | 160GB 7200rpm 8mb UDMA133 Maxtor | XION 600w dual 12v 44A total SLI PSU | X-fi Xtreme Music | 22" Widescreen Acer LCD
Anubis1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 04:10 PM   #47
Baseband Member
 
mbonwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 60
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

I somehow can't blame him!!
__________________
W.I.N.D.O.W.S - Will Install Necessary Drivers, Or Won't Start

Your mouse has moved. Windows NT must be restarted for the change to take effect. Reboot now? [ OK ]

Don't make me use uppercase...
mbonwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 04:34 PM   #48
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackjack
I have a friend who upgraded to 8mb broardband on orange and he too had a nightmare trying to set up his live box ,then by a stroke of luck he got talking to the guy next door who was on 8mb orange and still using his speedtouch 330 modem witch isnt supposed to take that speed but it did, so he rang orange, had a row with the lady on the other end of the line aboat using his old modem, telling her his neibour had the same package as his upgrade and it worked fine on the old modem 10min later he was on 8mb with out even using his live box so you too could try it
the speedtouch 330 can take up to 8mb , that is the highest it can take ,
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0