Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2007, 07:35 AM   #21
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
Sky Sports News used to stay on my tv continuously throughout the weekend, keep on top of the football....it is sorely missed!!!

Well cept when there is a game on anyway...
oh you lost sky sports news. i thought you meant like the news 24 channel. oh i spose that sucks then
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:35 AM   #22
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
What made you change from AOL then, was it price? Loads of people complain about them, but i must be one of the lucky ones coz i never get disconnected. The pc is downloading 24/7 and its uncapped. I dont know of any other top providers who arent capped.
a lot of companies say unlimited and then in the small pring they say "subject to fair usage policy " which sort of says that it isnt unlimited , it would be much clearer if it was either just UNLIMITED full stop or they set a limit not this subjet to fair usage policy crap
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:39 AM   #23
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
What made you change from AOL then, was it price? Loads of people complain about them, but i must be one of the lucky ones coz i never get disconnected. The pc is downloading 24/7 and its uncapped. I dont know of any other top providers who arent capped.
At the time it was because you had to use their software, and it used to kill my computer, also at the time there was no anytime package so I had to pay per a connection.

I never really had a problem with the connection thing either it was more the fact that I used to be on the internet all the time, I think the most expensive phone bill was about 600 or something like that....

Since I returned from the states I have had NTL in every property because they were usually rented and most landlords object to having a sky dish but don't to cable so that route was easier...
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 03:45 PM   #24
Daemon Poster
 
Anubis1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,308
Send a message via MSN to Anubis1980 Send a message via Yahoo to Anubis1980
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

AOL looks good then if its unlimited. I dont use the software anyway that comes with the BB. Hate my pc cluttered up lol. This fair usage sucks tho, cos their ideas of fair usage differ greatly from mine
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 (1333fsb) 2.66 @3.5ghz |EVGA 680i SLI Mobo | 2GB Twin XMS ddr800 @ 875 | Leadtek 7950 GX2 Core@601 Mem@1600
500GB IBM/HITACHI Sata2 7200/16MB | 160GB 7200rpm 8mb UDMA133 Maxtor | XION 600w dual 12v 44A total SLI PSU | X-fi Xtreme Music | 22" Widescreen Acer LCD
Anubis1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:02 PM   #25
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis1980
AOL looks good then if its unlimited. I dont use the software anyway that comes with the BB. Hate my pc cluttered up lol. This fair usage sucks tho, cos their ideas of fair usage differ greatly from mine
dont use software with AOL and you are good , i hate fair usage too , it is realy false advertising seling unlimited as unlimited but subject to a fair usage policy , their idea of fairuse maybe 20gb but mine might be 50gb
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:03 PM   #26
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by muz379
have heard AOL are ok if you do not use their software and i have also heard there customer service is quite good , is this true
If i use their customer service, i do it online. Its an indian call centre and its easier to understand typing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by muz379
a lot of companies say unlimited and then in the small pring they say "subject to fair usage policy " which sort of says that it isnt unlimited , it would be much clearer if it was either just UNLIMITED full stop or they set a limit not this subjet to fair usage policy crap
Yeah, i know this mate. I download at least 80gig a month and i never have problems, i think the fair usage comes down to the individual company.
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:08 PM   #27
Daemon Poster
 
Anubis1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,308
Send a message via MSN to Anubis1980 Send a message via Yahoo to Anubis1980
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

So Raffaz ur on AOL then yeah? and u download 80 a month and no complaints, thats the kinda company i want. What tarrif thing r u on? i dont know much about AOL ill check them out, thanx
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 (1333fsb) 2.66 @3.5ghz |EVGA 680i SLI Mobo | 2GB Twin XMS ddr800 @ 875 | Leadtek 7950 GX2 Core@601 Mem@1600
500GB IBM/HITACHI Sata2 7200/16MB | 160GB 7200rpm 8mb UDMA133 Maxtor | XION 600w dual 12v 44A total SLI PSU | X-fi Xtreme Music | 22" Widescreen Acer LCD
Anubis1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:17 PM   #28
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
If i use their customer service, i do it online. Its an indian call centre and its easier to understand typing.

Yeah, i know this mate. I download at least 80gig a month and i never have problems, i think the fair usage comes down to the individual company.
i am on orange , 2 gig a month , cos i am poor , dont do much downloading , if i need something big do it at school .

and i have used online support for mcafee cos i cant understand the people in India over a poor line
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:20 PM   #29
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis1980
So Raffaz ur on AOL then yeah? and u download 80 a month and no complaints, thats the kinda company i want. What tarrif thing r u on? i dont know much about AOL ill check them out, thanx
Its platinum.
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:32 PM   #30
Daemon Poster
 
Anubis1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,308
Send a message via MSN to Anubis1980 Send a message via Yahoo to Anubis1980
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

OOOOH Platinum huh alreeet for some.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6750 (1333fsb) 2.66 @3.5ghz |EVGA 680i SLI Mobo | 2GB Twin XMS ddr800 @ 875 | Leadtek 7950 GX2 Core@601 Mem@1600
500GB IBM/HITACHI Sata2 7200/16MB | 160GB 7200rpm 8mb UDMA133 Maxtor | XION 600w dual 12v 44A total SLI PSU | X-fi Xtreme Music | 22" Widescreen Acer LCD
Anubis1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0