Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2007, 08:02 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se
a good reliable internet is my neighbours lool



but i would say bt is very reliable, just expensive
Yay for neighbour's internet. Too bad all of my neighbours are WPA-secured and I can't get broadband on this street.
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 11:50 PM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,410
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se
a good reliable internet is my neighbours lool



but i would say bt is very reliable, just expensive
I don't even have mine secured. There's nobody within wifi distance of us, our closest neighbors are probably 200 feet away through a bunch of pine trees and there aren't any other wifi devices around here. I already screwed up the router once by resetting the default settings so the internet company had to fix it, I've thought about enabling security but I don't think I really need it since nobody is around here.
__________________

__________________
Desktop: Dell Dimension E510, 2.5GB RAM, Intel P4 3.0GHZ, 250GB HDD, Windows Vista Premium. Might not be the best, but the old girl is still running good.
troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:07 AM   #13
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis1980
My bro uses orange, he has so many problems with them. Now theyre paying himm 200 pounds, giving him free modems etc lol and paying his BT phone line. My brother is a great bitcher lol, dont wanna mess with him on a fone
yeah , i am on orange , its pretty cheap but after you get past that its rubbish, i have been unable to connect for hours at a time they sent me a faulty modem , also you a tied to a 12month contract so if you wanna leave you have to pay like 100, my 12 months are over in july or august and i cannot wait , am gonna go with BT unlimited hopefully or tisscali are good i have heard
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:59 AM   #14
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

I tried posting yesterday in this thread but it was being a pain, so here we go again...

I would recommend NTL (Virgin Media) I have been with them over 5 years now in numerous different addresses and I have never had a major problem with the cable internet.

To me they are relatively cheap in regards to the package that I have right now, which is 4meg broadband, Full TV package with sports and movies (Minus sky 1 and Sky News ) but I am hoping that will be resolved pretty sharpish on that matter. Also with the telephone packages, free national and local calls, and dirt cheap international calls.

I pay about 50 a month currently for that, but I get a 10 a month discount because I complained about losing sky 1 and Sky News.

The customer service isn't the best in the world, but it is getting better, so I would recommend them.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:05 AM   #15
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
I tried posting yesterday in this thread but it was being a pain, so here we go again...

I would recommend NTL (Virgin Media) I have been with them over 5 years now in numerous different addresses and I have never had a major problem with the cable internet.

To me they are relatively cheap in regards to the package that I have right now, which is 4meg broadband, Full TV package with sports and movies (Minus sky 1 and Sky News ) but I am hoping that will be resolved pretty sharpish on that matter. Also with the telephone packages, free national and local calls, and dirt cheap international calls.

I pay about 50 a month currently for that, but I get a 10 a month discount because I complained about losing sky 1 and Sky News.

The customer service isn't the best in the world, but it is getting better, so I would recommend them.
i wouldnt mine 10 a month off for 2 channels i never watch. they seem pretty cheap anyway
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:12 AM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se
i wouldnt mine 10 a month off for 2 channels i never watch. they seem pretty cheap anyway
Sky Sports News used to stay on my tv continuously throughout the weekend, keep on top of the football....it is sorely missed!!!

Well cept when there is a game on anyway...
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:12 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Ive been with AOL since 98, never had problems with them (apart from their software, which i dont use anymore). I also got my price knocked down by 10 a month by telling them i was gonna cancel because i had been made redundant. I dont even think i would consider changing provider at the moment coz of all the problems in the UK with providers, and i dont wanna be left without a connection.
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:14 AM   #18
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
Ive been with AOL since 98, never had problems with them (apart from their software, which i dont use anymore). I also got my price knocked down by 10 a month by telling them i was gonna cancel because i had been made redundant. I dont even think i would consider changing provider at the moment coz of all the problems in the UK with providers, and i dont wanna be left without a connection.
Yeah mate I fully understand that one, to me, if its stable and working then now is a real bad time to change your isp, never know when you might get reconnected.

I had AOL when my modem was just 9600 it used to cost me a fortune in calls lol
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:29 AM   #19
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
Yeah mate I fully understand that one, to me, if its stable and working then now is a real bad time to change your isp, never know when you might get reconnected.

I had AOL when my modem was just 9600 it used to cost me a fortune in calls lol
What made you change from AOL then, was it price? Loads of people complain about them, but i must be one of the lucky ones coz i never get disconnected. The pc is downloading 24/7 and its uncapped. I dont know of any other top providers who arent capped.
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:30 AM   #20
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Good reliable Broadband companies for the UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlasseyeUK
Yeah mate I fully understand that one, to me, if its stable and working then now is a real bad time to change your isp, never know when you might get reconnected.

I had AOL when my modem was just 9600 it used to cost me a fortune in calls lol
yeah , if you change at the mo try not to get an isp with a 12month contract cos there is a price war in broadband at the moment
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaz
Ive been with AOL since 98, never had problems with them (apart from their software, which i dont use anymore). I also got my price knocked down by 10 a month by telling them i was gonna cancel because i had been made redundant. I dont even think i would consider changing provider at the moment coz of all the problems in the UK with providers, and i dont wanna be left without a connection.
have heard AOL are ok if you do not use their software and i have also heard there customer service is quite good , is this true
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0