The good old days?

wonderboy1953

In Runtime
A few years ago, a new 500GB drive just came out going for $500 at the time.

Now you can get a 3TB (USB 3.0 external) drive for $150. How the times have changed.

my first ever hard-drive was 100mb. I now own a 16gig usb drive :)

I don't recall 500GB ever going for $500... $200 yes but not $500.

My first computer (that wasn't owned by my family) was an 80GB and I thought I'd never fill it...

Kids...
Inmyday.gif

I was an honest-to-God hard drive mechanic, back 'in the day'. I would replace 18" hard disk platters, read/write heads, perform head alignments, etc. on HP7906 dual-platter hard drives. Each platter had 5MB storage per side, the top platter was removable.

You don't want to know how much those things cost...

The first hard drive I ever bought was a 20MB Seagate ST-225, paid $500 for it in 1984 which works out to $25 per MB. I thought it would not be possible to ever use that much disk space. Nowadays we pay less than $0.10 per GB. Times sure have changed.

In the late '70's I was a tech at IBM working on the 3350 Madrid disk drive. It was as big as refrigerator, required 220VAC and had 2 HDA's (Head Disk Assembly) that each held 300M. I think they cost $20-30,000 and were typically installed in strings of 4. A string of 4 only stored 2.4G. It was considered the industry leader back then.

String of 3350's:
3350_string.jpg

I have a 16G thumbdrive that's about the same size as my thumbnail that I carry on my keychain that I bought it for $15. It can store more than 6 strings of those old 3350's!

I love how laptops have come down in price since my high school days. Back in high school back from 2003-2007 laptops were so expensive I remember looking around for a used one but used was like 300-500$ for something old but not too old. Damn that sucked now you can get a netbook or even a cheap full laptop from walmart that isn't too bad. Definitely would have tied me over in high school.