Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2008, 10:41 AM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeReiner View Post
root root?
Well I did log in with the username/pass I made with Wibu but I didn't know what to do from there. I didn't know how to actually boot, so I gave up.
__________________

__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 10:50 AM   #12
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

Was it just a black screen with a command prompt? Normally ubuntu starts you out at a GUI, not a command prompt.
__________________

MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 10:53 AM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

It was just a command prompt, year. I think I accidentally pressed ESC when it was 95% into installing...that could be why, but i'll try this all on my desktop when I get home.

If Ubuntu is any good, because I never got into Linux, I might just make it my primary OS for browsing the web and doing HW and use Vista for games and XP for...nothing and Leopard for experiments.
__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 11:16 AM   #14
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

well for the record, next time you boot up and get left at a command prompt, try typing in 'startx'

Anyway, i would recommend doing a proper install, not that wubi thing.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 11:44 AM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
bullzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,283
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

lmk about the new ubuntu, i too was thinking about changing to linux on everything but my gaming rigs, but probably dual booting those
__________________
-Desktop- Dual Monitor, Q8200 2.34Ghz, 8GB, 1TB, XFX 6850, 7 Ultimate
-ASUS UL50- SU7300, 4GB, 500GB, G210M, 7 Home Premium 64, XP Pro
-HP NC6400- Core Duo 1.86Ghz, 2.5GB, 64GB SSD, x1300, XP Pro
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:06 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

Oh yeah my PC has an AMD CPU, does Ubuntu still work on the regular i386 download or do I have to get the 64-bit edition...
__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 07:43 PM   #17
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

i386 is fine.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 08:13 PM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeReiner View Post
i386 is fine.
Alright cool, I didn't wanna have to download another ISO.
__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 10:03 PM   #19
Daemon Poster
 
Istonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,469
Send a message via AIM to Istonian Send a message via MSN to Istonian
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

Yeah, unless you have 4 GB's of RAM the 64 bit is useless. Java doesn't work right without tweaking. It also uses more RAM.
__________________
Linux > Windows
Istonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 10:18 PM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
drumthrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,606
Send a message via AIM to drumthrasher Send a message via MSN to drumthrasher Send a message via Yahoo to drumthrasher
Default Re: Gonna try Linux...

Ok its installed on my first hard drive, second partition. I want to edit Vista's bootmanager with EasyBCD. I tried grub but I don't know how to configure it. I want to get some kind GUI to boot with like when you boot from the CD.

Bumpadeebumpbump?
__________________

__________________
Gateway GT4016 Desktop | CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3700+ @ 2.2GHz | RAM: 2GB (4x512MB) | HDD: 1x200GB, 1x120GB | Video: ATI HD Radeon 4850 512MB | OS: Vista Home Premium x86 SP1, Mac OS X Leopard 10.5.6
drumthrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0