Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2009, 12:32 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
jmacavali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,867
Default Frostwire versus Limewire

Just thought I'd let all you Limewire users out there know there is a program called Frostwire that you might want to look into...
__________________

__________________
****************************************
Don't take life too seriously -- no one gets out alive. Plus, who wants to arrive to the hereafter in pristine condition wearing a suit and tie?
I want to slide in sideways, worn out, used up, hair a mess, clothes tattered, & screaming, "Whooo! What a ride!"
****************************************
jmacavali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 12:38 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

^just a note, they are by the same company and they are the same program. using torrents like that has a high risk of screwing up your computer and promotes illegal pirating of musicians work.
__________________

__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 12:45 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
jmacavali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,867
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

^ Agreed...I was just putting it out there as info and not promoting either one.

Though I've tried both and have never gotten a virus from either.

>>>***I am not promoting illegal downloading of any kind.***<<<
__________________
****************************************
Don't take life too seriously -- no one gets out alive. Plus, who wants to arrive to the hereafter in pristine condition wearing a suit and tie?
I want to slide in sideways, worn out, used up, hair a mess, clothes tattered, & screaming, "Whooo! What a ride!"
****************************************
jmacavali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 12:48 PM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

Thats good then. I have tested both and both times downloading i have gotten viruses within days. This was about a year ago. Anything along the lines of kazaa, limewire, frostwire, etc. has potential to destroy your hard drive with a bad download.
__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:04 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

IMO Frostwire is better, it is faster from what I have seen and has less "crap" downloads. It also has less viruses from what I have noticed. I have got several with Limewire, but yet I have yet to get a virus (from ANYTHING I might add) since I started using Frostwire... That says something, doesn't it?
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:13 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
jmacavali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,867
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

^^Those are my points. That is why I think people should check it out if they are using Limewire.
__________________
****************************************
Don't take life too seriously -- no one gets out alive. Plus, who wants to arrive to the hereafter in pristine condition wearing a suit and tie?
I want to slide in sideways, worn out, used up, hair a mess, clothes tattered, & screaming, "Whooo! What a ride!"
****************************************
jmacavali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:17 PM   #7
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

Like i said i used to use kazaa and i was virus free until it became popular. Then i used limewire until it became popular because thats when people put bad downloads up. It will happen soon enough to frostwire.
__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:41 PM   #8
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
IMO Frostwire is better, it is faster from what I have seen and has less "crap" downloads. It also has less viruses from what I have noticed. I have got several with Limewire, but yet I have yet to get a virus (from ANYTHING I might add) since I started using Frostwire... That says something, doesn't it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemp View Post
Thats good then. I have tested both and both times downloading i have gotten viruses within days. This was about a year ago. Anything along the lines of kazaa, limewire, frostwire, etc. has potential to destroy your hard drive with a bad download.
They both connect to the same networks, so they both have the same amount of crap. You just need to be careful about what you download!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:43 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

Frostwire runs on the same network as Limewire, Gnutella, so malicious files that are present when running LW will be with FW too.

Quote:
^just a note, they are by the same company and they are the same program. using torrents like that has a high risk of screwing up your computer and promotes illegal pirating of musicians work.
For the record, the files you search for on the Gnutella network aren't torrents.

Quote:
Thats good then. I have tested both and both times downloading i have gotten viruses within days. This was about a year ago. Anything along the lines of kazaa, limewire, frostwire, etc. has potential to destroy your hard drive with a bad download.
Fear mongering FTW.

Just use some common sense. A four minute song (for example) isn't 400KB and don't download songs that end in anything that isn't a normal extension for music. I've gotten probably 1 virus in the last few years of using Frostwire and it was immediately detected and removed by ESET NOD32 the second the file was downloaded.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 01:51 PM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: Frostwire versus Limewire

^ I am fearful of it, because most people don't know that haha. They will see a song ending in .exe and install a m"music player" and there goes the computer.
__________________

__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0