Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2006, 10:08 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: free dial-up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nik00117
LMAO 40 bucks for dail up, HAHA I'd never pay that. Yes you can get free dail up. Its highly unreiable and crappy. My ISP gave us dail up as a back service thing is my PC doesn't support 56k modem. But if I ever loose internet i normally just watch a movie and if I do get on dail up its check e-mail maybe CF and log out.

Once you've seen what a 10 MB connection does a 56k is simply unbearable.
40 bucks for 28.8k slower than your average dialup.

Strangely enough you can get 2mbps high speed for $39.95 across the street but not here...
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 10:34 AM   #12
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: free dial-up

10MB..wow! Im only on 1MB, with a download speed of about 20Kb, max.
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 10:38 AM   #13
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: free dial-up

how much do you pay for the 1mb, lol. i pay 44.95 for my 5mb
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 10:40 AM   #14
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: free dial-up

Yeah John there's a catch, you have to live with the Yahoo! branding over every thing on the computer with Rogers.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 10:49 AM   #15
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: free dial-up

actually i never ever installed the yahoo software. i had rogers since like 2003. the best thing is that you can use any yahoo services with your rogers email.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 10:57 AM   #16
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: free dial-up

Oh, I thought you had to bundle up with all the yahoo branded software. At one of my relative's house that I was at in June (far away) and my Uncle has Rogers and he the technicians said that he had to download rogers yahoo browser, and that self healing thing and all the rest of the junk.

Yeah, the extra Yahoo benefits are a plus though, like Launchcast Plus without advertisements. I kinda "made myself a Rogers account" while I was there, and now i can get ad-free Launchcast here without having Rogers high speed lol

BTW, with 5mbps I used to get anwhere between 500kb/s to 600kb/s with Download Accelerator Plus on US or UK servers when downloading stuff, how much do you get?
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 11:11 AM   #17
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: free dial-up

downloading from the net i actually dont get really fast speeds (maybe 100-200), and on torrent maybe 50kb/s
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 11:18 AM   #18
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: free dial-up

Really? That low? You must be downloading from international servers or something Either that or maybe Download Accelerator actually works {yeah, right...}
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 11:19 AM   #19
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: free dial-up

Im downloading a Linux torrent now, 733.98MB - 25kb/s maxed out, with nothing else internet related on.
joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2006, 11:20 AM   #20
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: free dial-up

i dono, maybe my router is capping it...
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0