Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2007, 04:43 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Folding Q

right hopefully this will just be a quick question.

i have 2 internet connection 1 at my house the other at my girlfriends and i swap about 2 or 3 times a day and im wondering if its ok just to carry on the folding or if its best to close it before i leave my internet connection.

does folding need the internet ?

also is there anything else i should know ?
__________________

__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 06:19 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: Folding Q

It only downloads & sends stuff once in a while so it doesn't need to be connected all the time.
__________________

__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 06:38 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Folding Q

ok cheers thats all i needed to know.

1 more thing to add is that i cant find my name on the folding@home website ? does this mean my work is not contributing to this ? i seached the user thing and cant find me

i dont wonna be doin this if its not helping n e 1 ?

or do they only update the Dbase every so often ?
__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 07:05 AM   #4
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Folding Q

You only get added after you have completed one work unit
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 05:16 PM   #5
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Folding Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssc456 View Post
ok cheers thats all i needed to know.

1 more thing to add is that i cant find my name on the folding@home website ? does this mean my work is not contributing to this ? i seached the user thing and cant find me

i dont wonna be doin this if its not helping n e 1 ?

or do they only update the Dbase every so often ?
Have you completed a work unit? did you enter a team number?
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 05:30 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
ssc456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4,279
Send a message via MSN to ssc456
Default Re: Folding Q

dont think i have finished a work unit yet.

but yh i eneter for us david

repping 42655
__________________

__________________
He who has never failed has never attempted anything worth succeeding at.

Dont Eat Animals, Its Not Good For Them And They Dont Like It!
ssc456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0