Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 07:16 AM   #1
BSOD
 
Voodoo Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,724
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Child Send a message via MSN to Voodoo Child Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo Child
Default fm transmitter help

i am trying to build this all from parts from radioshack

http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/circ/fmt2.htm

1st question, are the resistors 1/2 watt of 1/4 watt?

2nd question, the
C2 = 4-40pF capactior, I read somewhere that that was a trimmer, or something, basically
what i am asking is, what radioshack part number will suffice for that?

and for this thing, will i be able, if i am in the car, someone is listening to something on the radio, could i override what they are listening to
with my mp3 player and this baby?


and on the guide, it says something like no using electrolitic caps or something.

the only 4.7uf one i can find is the kind i cant use, could i say screw it and use it anyway? could i not use it? could i use a subsitute? could i get a differnt capacitor?


i am really siked for this, spelled that wrong, here is my cart

http://www.radioshack.com/cart/index...opnav_cart_txt

6 something dollars? not bad!

when u hit on the link, it may say nothing in cart, so ill tellu what i got in there.

i got the 2 resistors, transistor, 4.7 electrolitic cap thing , .001uf cap, and a 2AA battery holder that has a 9v snap on the top. for 6.74
__________________

Voodoo Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 08:42 AM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
~K-Pow~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via MSN to ~K-Pow~ Send a message via Yahoo to ~K-Pow~
Default Re: fm transmitter help

That's a neat project i see there. I'm sorry i can't help you though, but i'd like to know how it turns out.
__________________

__________________
"Keep fit and have fun" Bodybreak

Home Computer: Dell inspiron 2200, 1.66 GHZ processor, 80 gig harddrive, 512mb ram, cd/dvd rom, wireless network card.
~K-Pow~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 03:39 PM   #3
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: fm transmitter help

weird..
I looked all over the radio shack website and couldn't find a single variable cap,


these are what you want...
http://www.maplin.co.uk/search.aspx?...10m5&worldid=3

0.1uf caps
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family

0.01uf cap
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family

there is no 4.7uf, it's 4.f pf (pico farrad not microfarrad)
but again good ole radioshack don't seem to sell one...

how on earth they still justify the title RADIO shack without selling radio parts?
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 04:08 PM   #4
BSOD
 
Voodoo Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,724
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Child Send a message via MSN to Voodoo Child Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo Child
Default Re: fm transmitter help

i have desided to go with this one

http://www.uoguelph.ca/~antoon/circ/fmt2.htm
Voodoo Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 04:10 PM   #5
BSOD
 
Voodoo Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,724
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Child Send a message via MSN to Voodoo Child Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo Child
Default Re: fm transmitter help

Quote:
Originally Posted by root
weird..
I looked all over the radio shack website and couldn't find a single variable cap,


these are what you want...
http://www.maplin.co.uk/search.aspx?...10m5&worldid=3

0.1uf caps
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family

0.01uf cap
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=family

there is no 4.7uf, it's 4.f pf (pico farrad not microfarrad)
but again good ole radioshack don't seem to sell one...

how on earth they still justify the title RADIO shack without selling radio parts?
there are trimmers at radioshack.com

and wait, will it not work if i have a 4.7uf?
Voodoo Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 06:15 AM   #6
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: fm transmitter help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voodoo Child
there are trimmers at radioshack.com

and wait, will it not work if i have a 4.7uf?
really?

All I see it rtimmer pots, not trimmer caps.

I was unable to find tunning capacitors, (variable capacitors trimmer caps) at all anywhere on the site... (did you find any? prehaps you have to actully go into the shop).

no, it won't work, if you have a 4.7uF capacitor,
it's a tunned circuit,
a 4.7uf capacitor is in the order of a million times greaner value than a 4.7pf capacitor.

f = farad = x10^1
mf = milli farad = x10^-3
uf = microfarad = x10^-6
nf = nanofarad = x10^-9
pf = picofarad = x10^-12
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 07:38 AM   #7
BSOD
 
Voodoo Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,724
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Child Send a message via MSN to Voodoo Child Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo Child
Default Re: fm transmitter help

no what if i got a ultra small uf cap?

and o wait these are resistor caps.
Voodoo Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 10:26 AM   #8
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: fm transmitter help

even if you got a very small (e.g. 0.001 uF cap, it's still be almost 10,000 times too big.

do Radioshack stores have a components counter if you actually go into them, you might be better actually trying to walk into a store with a parts list.


either that..
or you could just change supplier
trimmer cap - (5pf - 40pf) http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/Pro...D40C%2DW1%2DPF

capacitor (4.7pf) http://www.alliedelec.com/Search/Sea...rchQuery=4.7pf

that place seems a little cheaper than Radio shack as well...
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2006, 04:11 PM   #9
BSOD
 
Voodoo Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,724
Send a message via AIM to Voodoo Child Send a message via MSN to Voodoo Child Send a message via Yahoo to Voodoo Child
Default Re: fm transmitter help

i have heard digikey and mouser are really good, i dont know bout allied electronics. but i don't want to order like 2 things and pay 5 dollar shipping, i would want to buy everything off of that site. and, idk, maybe i am intimidated, but when u search for something, there is like 100 results of the same thing, so i dont know, i may just say screw this whole thing.
Voodoo Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2006, 05:08 AM   #10
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: fm transmitter help

(you could always order all the parts from one site?)

if there are loads just pick the first thing off the list. or the part that best sounds like the one you want. or just the cheapest part!

as a piece of advice, 4 band metalized resitors are the most accurate, (and most expensive), the regular 1/4Watt clay resistors would probably be fine.

ceramic capacitors are the least accurate (have the least tollerance),
Eecrolytic capacitors are polarised (and the circuit specifically says not to use them,
metalized and tamtlyium capacitors are the most accurate, best quality, and again most expensive, I would imagine that ceramic capacitors would be fine for this circuit however...

I'm not american, so I can't offer any advice on the best places in america to buy components.
__________________

__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0