Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2006, 11:07 PM   #1
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default Fluke or Do-able

My laptop computer has done on several occasions and sometimes fixes itself and sometimes doesn't till i investigate and the attached image demonstrates what has happened several times. What happens since I can not find out where to be able to post the image is that windows is showing the images but hiding the names. The names are there but windows is not showing them- now if you try to rename it, you can and the name goes back to hidden status. If you want a picture of this, email me or post how to do so in this forum and I will post the picture.

I have asked several ppl about this and even searched the internet but haven't found any real or no-real answers. Is this simply a fluke that my computer from time-to-time does or is this something windows can do. If it how do I manage to do this. I am trying to find out so I manage the massive number of images if hold.

My basic system info is: Running Windows XP Media Centre on a Dell Insperion 9300 laptop. 1 GB of DDR Memory and an 100 GB hardrive.

Thanx and Bye,
PraSango
Germany
__________________

PraSango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 02:09 AM   #2
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 349
Default Re: Fluke or Do-able

Hey man it might just be because im really tired, but could you re-explain your problem because im kinda confused about what exactly your asking.
__________________

Infin1ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 02:49 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Fluke or Do-able

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infin1ty
Hey man it might just be because im really tired, but could you re-explain your problem because im kinda confused about what exactly your asking.
Sounds like he's struggling with English
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 05:43 AM   #4
In Runtime
 
The Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 158
Default Re: Fluke or Do-able

Are you saying that when you view images you have stored on your computer, it is not displaying the image name? If so, what program are you using to view your images?
The Sheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 06:34 AM   #5
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Fluke or Do-able

Couldn't make much sense of it
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 07:47 AM   #6
The Candyman
 
~mr mixx~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,310
Default Re: Fluke or Do-able

Quote:
Originally Posted by PraSango
My laptop computer has done on several occasions and sometimes fixes itself and sometimes doesn't till i investigate and the attached image demonstrates what has happened several times. What happens since I can not find out where to be able to post the image is that windows is showing the images but hiding the names. The names are there but windows is not showing them- now if you try to rename it, you can and the name goes back to hidden status. If you want a picture of this, email me or post how to do so in this forum and I will post the picture.

I have asked several ppl about this and even searched the internet but haven't found any real or no-real answers. Is this simply a fluke that my computer from time-to-time does or is this something windows can do. If it how do I manage to do this. I am trying to find out so I manage the massive number of images if hold.

My basic system info is: Running Windows XP Media Centre on a Dell Insperion 9300 laptop. 1 GB of DDR Memory and an 100 GB hardrive.

Thanx and Bye,
PraSango
Germany
are you experiencing pop-ups and you can't find the names because they are hidden? the next time you get one, take a screen shot of it by pressing the (printscreen button) on your keyboard, then open up ms paint, then click the edit button and paste it into the window. then save as a .gif

then you can go to photobucket.com or photoshack and post a pic here so we can find out what exactly is poping up, by the way both photo sites are free hosting of pics.
__________________
" Let the music move you "
~mr mixx~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 11:13 AM   #7
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: Fluke or Do-able

I am using the default windows picture viewer, Windows Picture and Fax Viewer. Ill try to post a picture after this. I am not getting any wierd acting symptoms or anything else, my computer just does this.
PraSango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2006, 12:09 PM   #8
The Candyman
 
~mr mixx~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,310
Default Re: Fluke or Do-able

well ,one more thing you could do is when in windows explorer, you could click on folders button / folder options / where it says file type: put in the file extention of the file your having trouble with. then click on open with, and find the program .exe you want it to open with.
__________________

__________________
" Let the music move you "
~mr mixx~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0