Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2008, 03:16 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

Spent too much money on a CPU and not nearly enough on the rest of the parts. Keep the parts in more or less the same range (low, mid, high- end), otherwise you WILL bottleneck.
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:28 PM   #12
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

Didn't take into account the possibility of overclocking.
__________________

JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:53 PM   #13
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

I hate to say this, but my first build went perfectly. Did the research, found the parts I wanted at a good price, and the system fired up the very first time.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:54 PM   #14
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

Just the little things - Like SATA cables and the like.

I've never actually made that mistake, but i'm sure it'd be an easy one to make!
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:00 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

I made the mistake of not plugging the extra 12v connector from the PSU into the motherboard, so was confused why it powered up but didn't go much further... haha.
Other than that, things went pretty smoothly.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:05 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

Can't really think of anything. My system is looking a bit dated at a little over a year old, but I don't regret the purchase. Maybe that I bought 2 graphics cards with a vga and dvi port instead of 2 dvi ports? lol Kinda a weird complaint. My case was cheap and still holds up. The mobo was maybe a bit dated for tech at the time I bought it, but it works fine for me. My 3 Acer LCDs are still holding up fine.
Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:24 PM   #17
Daemon Poster
 
CrackerJacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 987
Send a message via Skype™ to CrackerJacker
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

Bought a Biostar AKA (BioShit) Motherboard
__________________
USAF KC-135R Crew Chief
i7 2770 @ 3.4ghz, Geforce GTX 560 ti, 8GB DDR3 1600, SSD 120gb, cup holder
I would imagine if you could understand Morse Code, a tap dancer would drive you crazy
CrackerJacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:27 PM   #18
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kage View Post
I made the mistake of not plugging the extra 12v connector from the PSU into the motherboard, so was confused why it powered up but didn't go much further... haha.
Other than that, things went pretty smoothly.
same here for me
__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:34 PM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
esa193's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,210
Send a message via AIM to esa193
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrackerJacker View Post
Bought a Biostar AKA (BioShit) Motherboard
rofl plus 1
__________________
antec 900, q6600, 4G, 500G, 160G, 9800gtx, 780i, 47in 1080ptv, 5.1 surround sound

MacArthur wrestling pwns!
esa193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 08:06 PM   #20
Daemon Poster
 
Istonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,469
Send a message via AIM to Istonian Send a message via MSN to Istonian
Default Re: First Build Mistakes Thread

I forgot to connect the power connector into the motherboard and spent an hour wondering why it wouldn't start.
__________________

__________________
Linux > Windows
Istonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0