Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2008, 10:45 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
mayorredbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,246
Default Firefox 2.0

Does anyone else feel like Firefox has sold out? Even just a little bit.

I just downloaded Firefox 2.0 and did not appreciate the fact that right in between my Bookmarks and Tools menu there was a Yahoo! menu.

It advertised all of there services right in that menu. I don't use any of yahoo's services. I'm sure their great but I don't need them at all. And while its very easy to remove, I don't feel like it should have ever been there in the first place.

I'm sure they got a lot of money to put it in though. And they managed to name drop Google and Yahoo three times each in there 'Whats New?' section of the release notes.

I don't know I guess I just wish the people who make my internet browser didn't advertise products to me so blatantly.
__________________

__________________
Karma/rep is always appreciated
01010010011001010110010001100010011001010110000101 11001001100100
010011110111010101110100

There are only 10 kinds of people in this world. Those who can read binary, and those who can't.
mayorredbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 10:46 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

I think your crazy, I've installed firefox in the last week about 5 times and their is no yahoo bar.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 10:55 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
Illmatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 941
Send a message via AIM to Illmatic
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

Firefox has been sold out for a while now. There are some better browsers out there.
__________________
My word is bond and bond is life and I will give my life before my word shall fail.
Illmatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 10:56 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Š88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to Š88
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

it's just business as usual. They're not making money from us so they turn to the money giants like google.
__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lösung!
Š88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 01:23 AM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

dude, there is no yahoo bar its an add-on go to tools/add-ons to disable it(i think) cuz i have firefox on all my comps and have installed it on other ppls comps and i have never had a yahoo bar
__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 01:23 AM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
GhostGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Illmatic View Post
Firefox has been sold out for a while now. There are some better browsers out there.


that was effin hilarious.


@ MAyorRedBeard,

There is no yahoo bar coupled with Firefox 2.0. No, I personally don't think they've sold out at all. You probably installed the bar without knowing it, or some other way obviously. But the actual Firefox 2.0 download does NOT include Yahoo's toolbar.
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3204Mhz ~ Tuniq Tower 120 ~Corsair XMS2 5GB ~ WD VelociRaptor 150GB Main ~ WD 1TB Black ~ EVGA 8800GTS 640MB ~ 7 Home Premium (64-Bit)
GhostGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:01 AM   #7
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 878
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

I've never had any 3rd party software come with Firefox and I've used 2.0 for so long now. If they offer extra things during the installation I just don't tick any of them cause it's usually crap. Re-install?
Thrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 10:43 AM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
mayorredbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

Thats strange, I guess I must've installed it unknowingly. On my last version of Firefox I did not have that toolbar there, strange.
__________________
Karma/rep is always appreciated
01010010011001010110010001100010011001010110000101 11001001100100
010011110111010101110100

There are only 10 kinds of people in this world. Those who can read binary, and those who can't.
mayorredbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 04:00 PM   #9
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

Did you import anything from IE? Odds are that's how it got there.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 11:37 PM   #10
In Runtime
 
MacGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 193
Default Re: Firefox 2.0

That's weird. I have been using FireFox for a few weeks, and is doesn't have anything like that. Have you ran a virus scan?
__________________

MacGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0