Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2009, 10:16 PM   #1
In Runtime
 
RiverS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via MSN to RiverS
Default Dual Monitors

So my dad is upgrading his comp, that means i get the old one! yay!

I go to pick up the new one tomorrow, and when i get home i get to set up my nice new dual monitor setup, a 22" and a 19", i am going to get Ubuntu or Debian (atm am booting ubuntu with Xp aswell, but debian looks good) running through Vmware on the 19" so i will have the best of both worlds, Win XP running on the 22" and linux on the 19".

Just though i would share my excitement about getting my new screens and comp with everyone lol.

Anyone else got a dual monitor setup?
__________________

__________________
ORLY?
RiverS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:19 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
nevermind1534's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 754
Default Re: Duel Monitors

Not yet, but I love my 22" monitor.
__________________

__________________
Your PC Forums - yourpcforums.org
nevermind1534 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:35 PM   #3
In Runtime
 
RiverS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via MSN to RiverS
Default Re: Duel Monitors

lol ahk, its a shame that i have to wait like 24 hours for my new setup im just sitting here thinking of what i can do with it. Play games with the 22" and be on the net on the 19" I LOVE IT!!! lol.
__________________
ORLY?
RiverS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:46 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Duel Monitors

My next rig, I'm doing dual 24" monitors. Overkill? I think not!

I used to run my current 19" LCD with a 17" CRT. It was pretty fun, very convenient.. I could have AIM in one window and WoW in the other, haha.. Back when I played, that is.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 11:16 PM   #5
In Runtime
 
RiverS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via MSN to RiverS
Default Re: Duel Monitors

Dual 24" Someone is going to have a lot of desktop space!! Lol.
__________________
ORLY?
RiverS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 12:14 AM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Duel Monitors

Believe me, I need it. Photo editing is a real pain sometimes at 1440 by 900. Games would also look very nice I'm hoping... Gotta shell out a lot for a good GPU though, I'm probably going with dual cards, maybe tri.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 08:06 AM   #7
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Dual Monitors

I have dual monitors. It's great for homework. Particularly some of my programming assignments. It's totally worth it.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 08:15 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: Dual Monitors

Nope, i don't run dual monitor...but i do dual boot ubuntu and xp ...ubuntu being my main OS..ofcourse! Linux FTW!!

Great to have another Linux user around...

I do have to admit though, i haven't played around with Debian distro, the cds are a lot to download...

Post some screen shots in the near future, i'd love to see ur setup
__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 03:49 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
cboucher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,652
Default Re: Dual Monitors

I have dual monitors at work, but not at home. I'll probably have to wait until I hit the Lottery before I can swing dualies at home...
__________________
But I'm trying, Ringo. I'm trying real hard... to be the Shepherd.
cboucher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 04:23 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
eslfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,604
Send a message via AIM to eslfish Send a message via MSN to eslfish Send a message via Yahoo to eslfish
Default Re: Dual Monitors

I don't have a DM setup but I really want one.
__________________

__________________
XFIRE: Lindmando STEAM: Lindmando
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
4094MB RAM 500 GB HD ATI Radeon™ HD 5850 8800 GT
Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
eslfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0