Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2008, 12:17 PM   #1
BSOD
 
goeatspam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 55
Default Do you use anti-virus software?

I used to use avg, but then I just un-installed it because I never get viruses anyways.

Post your story.
__________________

goeatspam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:21 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Computer Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,841
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goeatspam View Post
I used to use avg, but then I just un-installed it because I never get viruses anyways.

Post your story.
I use AVG. However, I feel that going without antivirus protection is foolish, even when there are these free ones. There have been times that I have been setting up PCs and had them on the network 10 minutes without antivirus protection (because it wasn't installed yet) and it came down with a virus. I would recommend antivirus protection on any computer attached to the "outside world".
__________________

__________________
A+, Network+
Official "Birthday Man" of CF.

http://www.yourpcforums.org
Computer Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:30 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

I use Avast on my computers. I agree, there isn't a reason to go without an antivirus. Plenty of them are free too.
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 03:05 PM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 810
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

I use Windows Live One Care. And i use AVG occasoinaly to do a scan to make sure One Care is working.
__________________
MSI K9N2GM-FIH motherboard AMD Phenom Agena 9600(2) Crucial Ballistix Tracer 1GB PC2 6400 Thermaltake 430W PSU
160GB Segate Barracuda HDD 19" Wide Screen Hanns-G
Raidmax Tornado ATX Case OS- Gentoo
Toshiba A135 -Vista Pentium Dual Core 1.6 ghz. 1.5gb ram
www.localtechnet.net - Support me, click the ads!!
Austinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 03:11 PM   #5
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goeatspam View Post
I used to use avg, but then I just un-installed it because I never get viruses anyways.
Ever stop and think that you didn't get a virus because you're anti-virus blocked it from getting on? i bet not.

I have NOD32 on all of my computers. and PS. I never get viruses either.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 03:44 PM   #6
xxcobraxx
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England
Posts: 6,224
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
Ever stop and think that you didn't get a virus because you're anti-virus blocked it from getting on? i bet not.

I have NOD32 on all of my computers. and PS. I never get viruses either.
lmfao sorry celegorm but yes I think he would know, it tells you on avg how many it has. lol

I use to go unsecured for about 2months but you tend to learn you always get bad files snooping around on the internet
__________________
Liveleaker
IAntDemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 03:51 PM   #7
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

i didnt use any antivirus software for about 3-4 years.
Then recently i got a virus, and it deleted something on my laptop where i would get a BSOD when i boot up windows.
I shouldve been smarter, the file looked suspicious but i guess i wasnt thinking that day.
I then have to reinstall Windows, then I DL AVG, installed, and its on my Laptop.
But for my desktop, its antivirus free because i go on sites i normally go on it, and i dont download anything on there, since its my gaming computer. I use my External HDD to transfer my DL files from my laptop to my desktop.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:16 PM   #8
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

I use CCleaner, Spybot, and AVG 8.0.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:19 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

I use Avast! Home Edition, but I remember when I was little I use to get a lot of virus, no I get none...

But the only good thing about removing a virus (especially a hard one) is that when you finish (and this time your REALLY finished :P) you feel good
StratosP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 04:35 PM   #10
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Do you use anti-virus software?

Yeah, 'killing' viruses really feels good. I have Norton antivirus on my pc
__________________

techigirrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0