Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2008, 06:39 PM   #1
In Runtime
 
Le 3eme oeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 395
Default disc brakes on bike

Right now on my MTN bike i have the standard pad brakes that came with it and they are not that great.

I want to upgrade to disc brakes.
Anyone know how hard it is to put some of those on yourself? Also, they arnt that expensive are they?

its a 6061 heat treded al diamond back response mtn bike.

This bike (but mines green)
__________________

Le 3eme oeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:47 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Jesusfrk611's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: US
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

I didn't even know they existed...
__________________

Jesusfrk611 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:49 PM   #3
In Runtime
 
Le 3eme oeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 395
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

what existed?
Le 3eme oeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:51 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

I imagine it would be kinda hard since those bikes don't really have hubs built for discs...

I don't know much about bike brakes, but I say try upgrading your pad material before switching to discs.
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:52 PM   #5
In Runtime
 
Le 3eme oeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 395
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Lew View Post
I imagine it would be kinda hard since those bikes don't really have hubs built for discs...

I don't know much about bike brakes, but I say try upgrading your pad material before switching to discs.
Oh i thought those little holes on the fork and the back end were for disc brakes.
Le 3eme oeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 07:05 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

I see what you're talking about. Looks like you could mount a caliper there. But I don't know how you would attach the disc to the wheel.

Like I said though, before you break the bank, just change out your pads to a better compound and see how you like those.
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 07:07 PM   #7
In Runtime
 
Le 3eme oeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 395
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Lew View Post
I see what you're talking about. Looks like you could mount a caliper there. But I don't know how you would attach the disc to the wheel.

Like I said though, before you break the bank, just change out your pads to a better compound and see how you like those.
Ok, thanks for the advice.
Le 3eme oeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 07:53 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

You have to have special rims that are made for disc brakes. Most bikes that have regular linear pull brakes can't be upgraded to disc brakes without changing the rims.

Disc brakes are awesome though, put the front brake on too hard and it'll throw you right over the handlebars.....no joke.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 08:14 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Boy View Post
You have to have special rims that are made for disc brakes. Most bikes that have regular linear pull brakes can't be upgraded to disc brakes without changing the rims.

Disc brakes are awesome though, put the front brake on too hard and it'll throw you right over the handlebars.....no joke.
I can do that with my standard breaks already, heh.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 08:16 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: disc brakes on bike

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
I can do that with my standard breaks already, heh.
Well you must have some high performance pads on it then, most every bike with standard brakes I've ever had won't do that....lol
__________________

__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0