Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2006, 09:07 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
boardordi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,392
Default disable

is there a way to disable a program from being able to open without uninstalling it?
__________________

__________________
We ride, we die {}FORUM 2007{}
boardordi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 09:08 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
G35x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,474
Default Re: disable

Umm if you mean what I think you mean, then msconfig should solve the problem..
__________________

__________________
Check out my car forum..
altimacoupes.com

what is up vanilla face
G35x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 09:25 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
ArrizX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,073
Send a message via MSN to ArrizX
Default Re: disable

Lol well... I think you could password protect or encrypt the file, so it has to ask to you open it...
__________________
. ()()()()
./l ,[_\_\ ],
l---L ()lllllll()-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
ArrizX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:04 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
boardordi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,392
Default Re: disable

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrizX
Lol well... I think you could password protect or encrypt the file, so it has to ask to you open it...
not workin, and how wud i use msconfig to disable program acess?
__________________
We ride, we die {}FORUM 2007{}
boardordi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:11 PM   #5
88
Fully Optimized
 
88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to 88
Default Re: disable

Quote:
Originally Posted by boardordi3
not workin, and how wud i use msconfig to disable program acess?
you can't, he thought you meant you wanted to stop a program from opening at startup.

If you remove the program out of different profiles on your computer and make it exclusive to just your profile on your OS then that might be able to disable access from others if thats what you want.
__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lsung!
88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:11 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,913
Send a message via AIM to Paradox Send a message via MSN to Paradox Send a message via Yahoo to Paradox
Default Re: disable

msconfig has a section of all the programs that open on startup. so if you talking about a program that opens on startup then just take it off of the list.

if your talking one that opens randomly and not at startup theres either A: a program opening the program, or B: a trigger from a website, or a connection your your computer, or something like that.

so disable all programs you dont recognize at startup, and if that doesnt work, disconnect your computer from the internet and see if it opens up then, if either of those answer it, then you know what the cause is and can find an answer.

or if you just dont want someone opening a program on your computer, install it somewhere in your documents, and allow access to your documents to only you, and dont install shortcuts
__________________
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH

Xbox Live: Error Lord
Personal Email: HunterMRose[at]gmail.com
Aim: Error Lord
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:14 PM   #7
88
Fully Optimized
 
88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to 88
Default Re: disable

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradox
msconfig has a section of all the programs that open on startup. so if you talking about a program that opens on startup then just take it off of the list.

if your talking one that opens randomly and not at startup theres either A: a program opening the program, or B: a trigger from a website, or a connection your your computer, or something like that.

so disable all programs you dont recognize at startup, and if that doesnt work, disconnect your computer from the internet and see if it opens up then, if either of those answer it, then you know what the cause is and can find an answer.

or if you just dont want someone opening a program on your computer, install it somewhere in your documents, and allow access to your documents to only you, and dont install shortcuts
i think the hint from paradox here is that you need to specify your reasoning for wanting to do what you are saying
__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lsung!
88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:15 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,913
Send a message via AIM to Paradox Send a message via MSN to Paradox Send a message via Yahoo to Paradox
Default Re: disable

Yeah.. Question was too broad, so I try to give answers to whatever he coulda been asking
__________________
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH

Xbox Live: Error Lord
Personal Email: HunterMRose[at]gmail.com
Aim: Error Lord
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 12:38 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
boardordi3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,392
Default Re: disable

okay, well, i need to go buy a new os, but i have my comp being used as a server for my webcam, but i keep getting spam and adware attacks, soo yeah
__________________

__________________
We ride, we die {}FORUM 2007{}
boardordi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0