Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2018, 10:01 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Computers can be weird

Case in point:

You know that I've built a Ryzen 3 2200G system a few weeks ago. Ok, it works fine except for a couple of quirks. One, the sound was bad in my dos ported to Windows game Duke Nukem 3D. Two, the iGPU of this chip was as good as the HD7770 video card I have so I didn't put it in.

You may remember when I bought a 4 gig stick memory to add to my 8 gig stick. This is when I set up a ramdisk for the page file and I allocated two gigs for this.

All is well til I decided I want to use my video card and see how it goes. I put it in and hell broke loose. In a good way and the bad way.

My video was better with the card. My screen was smoother and more clarity. I was surprised as they were both 128 bit video but the card has DDR5 memory so that may be the difference though it's a 1 gig card.

My ramdisk quit working. No matter what I could not get it to work as a page file anymore so it's gone and Windows is managing it. Bummer.

I decided to play Duke Nukem (I love this game and I have 1000s of maps) and it wouldn't load. I tried again and it still wouldn't load.

Now WTF is this? So I ran setup and reconfigured everything and the sound is working correctly. The sound used to have a lot of static and now it's clean. I never could get it right before.

Weird right? So how weird did your computer get?
__________________

__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 03:27 AM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

How are your running Duke3D? I use source port like EDuke32 and it does wonders. It can runt eh games as an exact copy of the original along side with other enhancements like image filtering and mouse aiming. This should take care of all Dos problems since it will be running on Windows natively. The Dos executable and other related stuff won't be used at all. The .GRP files (if I remember the name correctly) are needed. Maybe some other files are needed but not the executables.


Even the other similar popular games at the time like Doom, Shadow Warrior and Blood received such source ports. It revived them for ages to come. Even now Doom gets modes and maps on with new additions thanks to the new stuff support of those source ports.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Celery View Post
My video was better with the card. My screen was smoother and more clarity. I was surprised as they were both 128 bit video but the card has DDR5 memory so that may be the difference though it's a 1 gig card.

Proving yourself wrong that memory bandwidth affects image quality?


__________________

__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 09:54 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

I'm using Eduke32 and no I did not prove myself wrong. Bandwidth does affect picture quality. It only proved that the video card is better than the iGPU.

There's more to video than just bandwidth and memory. Maybe my card had more cudas.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 11:24 AM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Now I have to go back to those old games and play them.


Speak of weirdness, with major updates all internal storage drives become unaccessable (if this is a word) except the OS and one other (I have six in total). I have to run several diagnosis and they suddenly work without applying any fixes as if nothing happened.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 11:38 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

LOL. I just had a weirdness when none of my DVDs would play in MPC. It keeps throwing "copy protect fail". Took me a moment to realize that I haven't installed the video card drivers. DUH!
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 05:35 AM   #6
Beta Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smart_Guy View Post
Now I have to go back to those old games and play them.


Speak of weirdness, with major updates all internal storage drives become unaccessable (if this is a word) except the OS and one other (I have six in total). I have to run several diagnosis and they suddenly work without applying any fixes as if nothing happened.
Stuff like this makes me nervous about the really advanced AI. One glitch like that and we'll be gonezo. haha
__________________
Arroyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:01 AM   #7
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Since I've put in my new Ryzen 5 2600 I was getting freezes/lockups at random. Took me a while to find out that the CPU firmware needed an update. I found that I had my Windows Update on manual so I ran it.

Problem solved. Weird.

Yo SG, I did research on video card functions and it turned out it's a combination of memory and bandwidth (and what else) that produce the quality of the picture. The higher the bandwidth the better. Same with the memory.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 12:39 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

I thought firmware needed to be flashed into the the CPU with special software/methods, not thru a Windows update. Hmm... My life has been a lie all this time!!!


Yes, that's what I know too. What I wanted to say is that bus width (called interface width too); e.g. 128-bit, has no sole impact on image quality. Bandwidth is a different thing which is measured in GB/sec. and accordingly memory speed which measures in MHz. Yet even those affect reaching ending image quality faster, not the image quality itself. Lower bandwidth video cards cause high quality images to pop-up starting with a low quality images at first.


I might have confused using terminologies bus/interface width with bandwidth before.



GTX 1080 Ti uses 352-bit and the newer RTX 2080 uses 256-bit. I have difficulty seeing the latter having lower image quality because of the sole reason of using 256-bit.


That's what I wanted to say back then before deciding you know better than me in this.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Arroyo View Post
Stuff like this makes me nervous about the really advanced AI. One glitch like that and we'll be gonezo. haha

Wait until you hear this: some people had some files deleted after updates and some others Windows license removed after a blue screen. Guess it's better to tie Windows license with the email account.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 02:05 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Apparently Windows can write to the CPU.

I've read that more bandwidth means better performance but others comes to play. Maybe that's what improved the picture quality. It's all about performance.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 02:52 AM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Wait, do CPU's have firmware? Isn't the bios that has to be updated to manage CPU's?
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 06:08 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Doubt it. My BIOS is v23 and the CPU requires at least v21. Even the article says CPU firmware.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 02:55 AM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Yet a Windows update solved it, not a firmware flash. I'm still not sure if Windows update flashed the CPU. Maybe the update history can tell us?



But anyway, I mean the flashing target; i.e. if the firmware is flashed into the BIOS even tho it's called CPU firmware. I'm not aware that CPU's have ROM in them to accept a firmware.


Learn something new everyday, I guess. I'm off to look it up. Don't mind me, really.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 05:58 AM   #13
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

I'm just as curious myself. Remember that Dan learned that the Ryzen CPUs won't work with Win 7 and older. Maybe they can't write to CPUs.

Ryzens and some Intels probably are flashable by Win10. Changes my friend changes.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:14 AM   #14
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Yo SG I have an idea what it is. Windows configured itself to work with the firmware found on this CPU so the Update provided the data needed.

After all I swapped the CPUs and just ran it without any configurations. I went from 4c4t to 6c12t.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 12:50 PM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Can we take our hats (or turbans) off to Windows?


__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 01:24 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

By the way, these CPUs are unlocked so I don't know that means anything.
__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:03 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

If it's like Intel, then that means it's overclockable thru an unlocked function. In Intel's case it's a bus speed multiplier. Locked and unlocked CPU's of the same tier typically have the same specs at stock speeds but the former is cheaper. Locked CPU's are the right choice for non-overclockers and shorter life span builds.
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 08:23 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Locked CPU users have shorter life span?

__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 11:06 PM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
Smart_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 4,120
Default Re: Computers can be weird

Shorter life span "builds", not CPU's or users. You make me sound like I doom users by their CPU's


As in having the juice to hold its own.



I overclocked my CPU to 4.4Ghz that runs on all cores and gave it a couple more years of performance. That's +800Mhz over the boost clock of 3.8Ghz that doesn't even run all the time (all four cores boost is 3.6Ghz).
__________________
My main rig (click here).
Smart_Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 12:19 AM   #20
Golden Master
 
Celery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,800
Default Re: Computers can be weird

I remember when I ran my i5-3570 at 3.8 Ghz at all times. A little tweak all it take.
__________________

__________________
I came on a Celeron and now my PC has Ryzen!
Celery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
×