Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2008, 09:09 PM   #1
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default CompTIA A+ ?

Is This the correct course?

http://www.braincorp.com.au/courses/...a-aplus-series

To get my A+ Certification certificate?
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:28 PM   #2
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: CompTIA A+ ?

Looks right. Some-what outdated as the new version doesn't talk about any OS below 2000, but the rest should still be a big help.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:44 PM   #3
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: CompTIA A+ ?

And This course will get me some certification?

Just wanna double check.
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:58 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: CompTIA A+ ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by neodude112320 View Post
Is This the correct course?

http://www.braincorp.com.au/courses/...a-aplus-series

To get my A+ Certification certificate?
Thats training for the 2003 exam (Which is not the most recent). You will not get a certificate by doing a training coarse, you need to write the exam at an authorized test center.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 10:26 PM   #5
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: CompTIA A+ ?

Ahh ok,I Thought that course was a bit cheap.Thanks!
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 12:26 AM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
sek3o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: CompTIA A+ ?

if i take it through the college they want a 1000 dollers just for a++, like neodude said i found some online for only 150 each written part.so those r fake?
__________________
dell xps 700 pent d 3.8 ghz duel 7900 gtx
4gigs 800 ram
sony vaio core 2 duo t7600 radon mobility x1600
2 gigs of ram
sek3o1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 07:11 AM   #7
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,003
Default Re: CompTIA A+ ?

no, the colledge way of studying means that you pay for tuition.

it's possible to get/gather the correct information independantly of a sylabus.

the 2003 exam guide will be a good place to start and lets you know the kind of questions that would be asked.

when I was thinking of taking these I aquired via free cycle teaching notes for the big compTIA exams (A+ linux+ network+) though upon reading them thought that the test wouldn't be easy, but wouldn't be much of a challenge either.

to take the test on it's own in the UK at a prometric centre, (the same ones that driving tests are taken at) costs, I think £112

https://store.comptia.org/shelf.aspx?shelf=2
that's the US prices.

also that site (the comptia site) you can download sample questions etc to revise for the exam.

Basically, no those sites are not a rip off, you can take the exams independantly of any college,
and for a $900 saving, I'd really recomend that you did!
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 09:31 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
Bahawolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,604
Default Re: CompTIA A+ ?

The teacher I had in high school wasn't to helpful for passing my A+ exam, but reading books and taking practice exams was.

These tests aren't that difficult, but you need to study.
__________________

Bahawolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0