Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2010, 01:08 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke_Uk_Baggy View Post
Sure, im fully expecting it to be positioned correctly.

If it was an easy 'quick fix' solution such as this, why didnt they do it a week ago?

Maybe the construction of the funnel? Then theres probably a lot of problems that arise with the pressure / oil etc etc.

As I say though im confident. I mean can you imagine the scientists / head of operations being asked:

'So when you decided to drop a 100 tonne piece of concrete into the sea, did you not think of X, Y and Z'

We will see how it develops..

The thing is, nothing of this magnitude has even been engineered before. EVER. They've made a ton of these funnel things, but never for an application this extreme. So they needed a team of engineers on it to make sure it'd work. And it will. Its just that its a band-aid, not a fix.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 05:15 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

They should round up all those who chanted "Drill baby, drill" to go clean up this mess. Unsurprisingly they're all quiet now that this happened...

Such a shame.
__________________

alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 04:27 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
allendale2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 781
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
That is the plan, but I cannot see them getting it in place.

I wish we would do it the russian way, and just nuke it. That is how they deal with their oils spills.

Btw it should be called the kraken. Release the Kraken!!!!!
why can't they get it into place? they have submersible equipment to guide the dome to the leak.

And I agree, burning it may just be negligible. I remember in the 90's, the Kuwait war, oil fields were burning for days and the country was engulfed entirely in black smoke.
__________________
OCZ 550 Watt Modular|Intel E7300 Core 2 Duo @ 2.66ghz|Gigabyte EP45UD3R|4 GB Corsair 800 DDR2|Geforce 8800 GTX|Seagate 250GB 7200RPM SATA|Samsung 160GB 7200RPM SATA|120 GB External WD Passport HD|Microsoft 3 Button Optical Mouse|Lite-On 2 Tone Standard Keyboard|ViewSonic 22in Wide Screen|Logitec x-540|Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
allendale2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 04:09 AM   #14
Daemon Poster
 
Legodude522's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,303
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

As an environmental technician, BURN IT! It would be a lot better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke_Uk_Baggy View Post
I think >>THINK<< they are basically going to put this huge dome thing ontop to act as a 'funnel' to funnel the oil all out of 1 specific point, rather than huge holes (or whetever its coming out at the moment). Then it should be easier to control / maintain / block up / divert / Whatever they plan on doing with it.
Any how do they plan on sealing it after they have it in this funnel? I don't understand it at all.
__________________
PC: Intel i7 4790K, 16gb RAM, MSI R7 250 2gb
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s 64gb
Handheld Games: Nintendo 3DS XL, Tapwave Zodiac 2, GamePark Holdings GP2X F100
Legodude522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 04:20 AM   #15
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

The giant concrete outhouse will have 5000 feet of tubing, running up to an oil tanker, which will have the oil pumped into it. It looks like they just cannot let go of this well.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 04:28 AM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
Legodude522's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,303
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

So in the end, BP still gets oil?
__________________
PC: Intel i7 4790K, 16gb RAM, MSI R7 250 2gb
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s 64gb
Handheld Games: Nintendo 3DS XL, Tapwave Zodiac 2, GamePark Holdings GP2X F100
Legodude522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 04:39 AM   #17
Omnicide now.
 
foothead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: My own personal hell
Posts: 10,014
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legodude522 View Post
So in the end, BP still gets oil?
Yes. Ridiculous, ain't it?

I hope they are going to cap it off in the future though. No telling how long this fix is gonna last.
foothead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 05:57 AM   #18
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legodude522 View Post
So in the end, BP still gets oil?
Pretty much. The bill for all of this won't even put a dent in their annual profits.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 01:15 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Coast Guard to set oil spill on fire

Quote:
Originally Posted by foothead View Post
The giant concrete outhouse will have 5000 feet of tubing, running up to an oil tanker, which will have the oil pumped into it. It looks like they just cannot let go of this well.
That's not why they are doing this. First off the oil they do get will be full of some chemical they are adding to keep it from clogging (which didn't work). Second off they are doing this because they need to drill a relief well before they can cap this one. So until that's done this will continue to leak. So they are trying this to help keep the leak minimal.

SO no, its not all being done to BP's benefit, but rather they are trying to make use of what otherwise would go to waste. Which in a situation like this, when they are screwed, is a pretty smart thing to do.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0