Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2009, 02:34 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default CMD question

Our school has many drives I can access from my account but cannot add or take material from. For example the N:\ drive has class stuff on it and my teacher said who ever can access it to add material from CMD gets some extra credit points. Is there a way I can do that.

From what I understand kids in other classes have done it and I am hoping I can get some points if I do.
__________________

__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 02:39 PM   #2
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: CMD question

I used to know how, a friend taught it to me, but I forgot it.

A quick google got me this
http://ss64.com/nt/
browse through it to find the command, then type it to see if you can achieve it.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 02:42 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: CMD question

Thank you +1

EDIT: I can't locate what I need on the site, I am not very good with CMD =/:EDIT
__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 04:46 PM   #4
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: CMD question

Do you know the file you are trying to access? If you do then when you are in the CMD menu. Input...
Quote:
copy "Place to retrieve" "place to copy"
with the quotes
For example, say I want to move my test.txt to my test folder on my second partition, then I would type
Quote:
C:\Users\*Username*> copy "C:\Users\*Username*\Downloads\test.txt" "D:\Test"
This command will copy the test.txt to where ever is the destination I typed.

If you don't know the files in there, then you type the destination then DIR.
For example if I want to view my downloads folder
Quote:
C:\Users\*Username*\Downloads>DIR
Then it will view all the files and folder in that directory.

There might be an easier or simpler way, but that's what I was taught by friends and teachers.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:06 PM   #5
Daemon Poster
 
hemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,304
Default Re: CMD question

Thanks thats just what I needed
__________________
Current Rig-I call him Q Core for short
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz 2.34 GHz|6.0GB RAM|NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB|1.5TB @ 7200 RPM|Sound Blaster X-Fi-Xtreme Audio|Vista Home Premium

'"Crapbox 2.0.....Until you put Mac OS X on it, then its called a Mac Pro." -cavemangrinder

"You were sick, but now you're well again, and there's work to do." - Kurt Vonnegut
hemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0