Originally Posted by alucard10
I have google drive now and have tested it by storing some pictures on it.
I have noticed that when you unsync all your folders any random person can turn it back on, how dose it even know to get back on YOUR accounts syncing?
I have also noticed that on your computer when you click the google drive icon then go to "preferences" then go to "account" there is a button that says "disconnect account".
what does "disconnect account" mean?
will this sanitize your computer of your gmail name? Will it make it so people cant re-sync your files from the sync folder?
Is there any way to completely remove google drive from your computer and completely sanitize your computer of any trace of your gmail name and files saved on google drive? While still using and storing on google drive online only?
can you access google drive only online?
Also what if you do go to a public library and for example view your files and or download them onto a flash drive? Once you logout and delete history will other people be able to see or access your files,account or see your gmail name on that computer?
I use Dropbox primarily but I understand they are very similar. The application on the PC pulls down files stored in the cloud. Disconnecting your account from that PC will not remove the files, it will only stop syncing. If you remove all of the files after disconnecting your account, you should be fine.
You can log into your google account via web browser and see your files in the cloud without downloading them or connecting to the PC. I do this all the time on Dropbox. (usually in an incognito window, to avoid leaving cookies)
downloading your files to a flash drive and logging out should be fine for at the library. Again, if they have Firefox or chrome on the computer, use an incognito window to further protect yourself. Google likes to leave evidence of your account in the form of cookies, to make login easier next time. Even though you'd still need the password to log back in, I prefer not to have my email address and face visible to the next person to sit down at the computer.