Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2006, 02:03 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
karling07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,099
Lightbulb Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Hi,

Im changing the colors of my room and want to change the color of my light switches and outlets. So the plates come off easily enough and i can obviously go buy new white colored plates.

But the switch itself and the outlet itself I cannot figure out how to replace...

Any suggestions (that are safe)?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
traffic in the skyy
karling07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 02:28 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
G35x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,474
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Well first turn off the power, via circuit breaker..Well in my house, once you take off the plate, all you see is a hollow space with a big white peice that is holding the swtich and what not...And on top there are screws, one on top, and one on the bottom..Take them out, and then pull, just pull the wire out, and go get a new swith box thing, only about $5usd..
__________________

G35x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 04:58 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
karling07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Thank you very much! So I assume its basically the same thing for power outlet and for light switch?
__________________
traffic in the skyy
karling07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 04:16 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
G35x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,474
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Quote:
Originally Posted by 07mackenzie
Thank you very much! So I assume its basically the same thing for power outlet and for light switch?

Yeah its basicaly the same thing, good luck, and make sure you turn the power off...Circuit breaker is god..
G35x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 05:01 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

can't u just paint them?
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 05:21 PM   #6
Fully Optimized
 
Computer Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,841
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

You could paint them, but if you do replace them, make sure to turn off the power at the breaker. 120V (at least in America) is enough to make a hound dog smile!
__________________
A+, Network+
Official "Birthday Man" of CF.

http://www.yourpcforums.org
Computer Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 07:34 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Paradox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,913
Send a message via AIM to Paradox Send a message via MSN to Paradox Send a message via Yahoo to Paradox
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Actually I believe in america its 110V
__________________
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWAH

Xbox Live: Error Lord
Personal Email: HunterMRose[at]gmail.com
Aim: Error Lord
Paradox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 07:56 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
Computer Head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,841
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paradox
Actually I believe in america its 110V
Yeah, you're right. It is 110V, but still, that's a lot of electricity!
__________________
A+, Network+
Official "Birthday Man" of CF.

http://www.yourpcforums.org
Computer Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 05:14 PM   #9
Daemon Poster
 
karling07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Okay, I got it done Looks great. I know this is a really old sense but I figured it would make sense to ask my other related question here.

So I have switched all of the outlets and light switches, but unfortunately now the light switch does not have an effect on the outlets (eg. both the top and the bottom outlet work, regardless of the switch being on or off).

It used to turn the upper outlets on/off

Any ideas on what I might have done?
__________________
traffic in the skyy
karling07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 03:49 AM   #10
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: Changing Light Switch/Outlet Colors

Quote:
Originally Posted by jervin32189
Yeah, you're right. It is 110V, but still, that's a lot of electricity!
But it's not the voltage that kills u, it's the amps.
__________________

mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0