Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2009, 02:16 AM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
ndatoxicity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to ndatoxicity Send a message via MSN to ndatoxicity Send a message via Yahoo to ndatoxicity
Default cell phone

this isnt a cell phone picture thread.

i was wondering...if you look on newegg and see unlocked phones...can you buy those and put your SIM card in it and it will work? or do you have to get it programmed for your network first?

(this might be on the wrong board...prolly should be in general electronics...sorry)
__________________

__________________
Laptop - Toshiba Satellite P105 | Intel Mobile C2D T7200 @ 2.0 | 2gb DDR2 667 | 120gb HD | NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS | Vista Home Premium
Desktop 1 - ASUS M3A76-CM | AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 @ 2.7 | 4gb DDR2 800 | WD 320gb 7200rpm | ATI Radeon 3000 Integrated | W7 64 Bit
Desktop 2 - ASUS M4A78 Plus | AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.1 | 4gb DDR2 1066 | WD 500gb 7200rpm | EVGA GTS 250 | W7 64 Bit

http://www.youtube.com/user/ndatoxicity...http://www.last.fm/user/ndatoxicity
ndatoxicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 02:19 AM   #2
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: cell phone

If it's an unlocked quadband cell phone, then it should work with any service that requires an sim card.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 02:30 AM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
ndatoxicity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to ndatoxicity Send a message via MSN to ndatoxicity Send a message via Yahoo to ndatoxicity
Default Re: cell phone

what do you mean by quadband?
__________________
Laptop - Toshiba Satellite P105 | Intel Mobile C2D T7200 @ 2.0 | 2gb DDR2 667 | 120gb HD | NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS | Vista Home Premium
Desktop 1 - ASUS M3A76-CM | AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 @ 2.7 | 4gb DDR2 800 | WD 320gb 7200rpm | ATI Radeon 3000 Integrated | W7 64 Bit
Desktop 2 - ASUS M4A78 Plus | AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.1 | 4gb DDR2 1066 | WD 500gb 7200rpm | EVGA GTS 250 | W7 64 Bit

http://www.youtube.com/user/ndatoxicity...http://www.last.fm/user/ndatoxicity
ndatoxicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 02:48 AM   #4
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: cell phone

Cell phones run on GSM technology. There's multiple frequencies for the GSM. There are 850/900/1800/1900, since there are 4 bands, that means its an quadband. If it were 850/1800/1900, then that means it's an triband, and so on. I think there are a couple more bands, but I don't think you will see much phones nor carriers using those bands.

For example AT&T uses 850/1900, that means if you were using AT&T, then you will need an phone with those frequencies in order to work. Carriers might just use 850, but if you had an phone with 900/1800/1900, then it would not work (no service).

You can look at these link to see what bands you need.
US
Canada
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 02:50 AM   #5
Daemon Poster
 
ndatoxicity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to ndatoxicity Send a message via MSN to ndatoxicity Send a message via Yahoo to ndatoxicity
Default Re: cell phone

thank you very much teny

+rep
__________________
Laptop - Toshiba Satellite P105 | Intel Mobile C2D T7200 @ 2.0 | 2gb DDR2 667 | 120gb HD | NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS | Vista Home Premium
Desktop 1 - ASUS M3A76-CM | AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 @ 2.7 | 4gb DDR2 800 | WD 320gb 7200rpm | ATI Radeon 3000 Integrated | W7 64 Bit
Desktop 2 - ASUS M4A78 Plus | AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.1 | 4gb DDR2 1066 | WD 500gb 7200rpm | EVGA GTS 250 | W7 64 Bit

http://www.youtube.com/user/ndatoxicity...http://www.last.fm/user/ndatoxicity
ndatoxicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 02:54 AM   #6
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: cell phone

Oh yeah, theres also some mentions on how text and online might not work correctly. Then you would just go online and find a guide that will teach you how to get it fully working.
Then some people told me about the 34k and 64k sim cards, and how it works on some phones and doesn't on others. I never actually quite get that, but I have been told that the carrier will just supply you with is new one if it doesn't. I think these depends on the carriers whether they do it or not, and whether if they charged you.
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:01 AM   #7
Daemon Poster
 
ndatoxicity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to ndatoxicity Send a message via MSN to ndatoxicity Send a message via Yahoo to ndatoxicity
Default Re: cell phone

that confused me. but thanks anyways. XD
__________________
Laptop - Toshiba Satellite P105 | Intel Mobile C2D T7200 @ 2.0 | 2gb DDR2 667 | 120gb HD | NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS | Vista Home Premium
Desktop 1 - ASUS M3A76-CM | AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 @ 2.7 | 4gb DDR2 800 | WD 320gb 7200rpm | ATI Radeon 3000 Integrated | W7 64 Bit
Desktop 2 - ASUS M4A78 Plus | AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.1 | 4gb DDR2 1066 | WD 500gb 7200rpm | EVGA GTS 250 | W7 64 Bit

http://www.youtube.com/user/ndatoxicity...http://www.last.fm/user/ndatoxicity
ndatoxicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 12:11 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: cell phone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Oh yeah, theres also some mentions on how text and online might not work correctly. Then you would just go online and find a guide that will teach you how to get it fully working.
Then some people told me about the 34k and 64k sim cards, and how it works on some phones and doesn't on others. I never actually quite get that, but I have been told that the carrier will just supply you with is new one if it doesn't. I think these depends on the carriers whether they do it or not, and whether if they charged you.
you just made it sound way more complicated than it is. Just put the sim card in and it'll work. Don't worry about 32/64k and the internet.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:06 PM   #9
Daemon Poster
 
ndatoxicity's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to ndatoxicity Send a message via MSN to ndatoxicity Send a message via Yahoo to ndatoxicity
Default Re: cell phone

ok thanks for your help guys
__________________
Laptop - Toshiba Satellite P105 | Intel Mobile C2D T7200 @ 2.0 | 2gb DDR2 667 | 120gb HD | NVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS | Vista Home Premium
Desktop 1 - ASUS M3A76-CM | AMD Athlon 64 X2 7750 @ 2.7 | 4gb DDR2 800 | WD 320gb 7200rpm | ATI Radeon 3000 Integrated | W7 64 Bit
Desktop 2 - ASUS M4A78 Plus | AMD Phenom II X2 550 @ 3.1 | 4gb DDR2 1066 | WD 500gb 7200rpm | EVGA GTS 250 | W7 64 Bit

http://www.youtube.com/user/ndatoxicity...http://www.last.fm/user/ndatoxicity
ndatoxicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:47 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: cell phone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teny View Post
Cell phones run on GSM technology. There's multiple frequencies for the GSM. There are 850/900/1800/1900, since there are 4 bands, that means its an quadband. If it were 850/1800/1900, then that means it's an triband, and so on. I think there are a couple more bands, but I don't think you will see much phones nor carriers using those bands.

For example AT&T uses 850/1900, that means if you were using AT&T, then you will need an phone with those frequencies in order to work. Carriers might just use 850, but if you had an phone with 900/1800/1900, then it would not work (no service).

You can look at these link to see what bands you need.
US
Canada
Not all cell phones run on GSM technology.

Verizon is the biggest wireless carrier in the United States IIRC and it and Sprint run on CDMA (1XRTT/1XEVDO) technology. CDMA phones don't take SIM cards; you just register the ESN with the carrier.

In Canada, Bell and Telus (and their subsidiaries - Virgin Mobile, Koodo Mobile, Solo Mobile, etc) don't allow foreign phones on their network. I don't know if this is the same in the US, but even if you unlock a CDMA phone in Canada, it can't be used with Bell or Telus (the only CDMA carriers) unless it's a carrier-branded phone. If Verizon and Sprint have the same policy, you'd need to purchase your phone from them or make sure that the phone is branded for their network. Not sure if they're that strict (and anti-competitive) though.

Rogers is GSM, like AT&T and T-Mobile in the US, so any unlocked phones will run on its network. Bell and Telus are moving to HSPA (3G GSM) technology soon anyway, I think a soft launch is coming in September or October.
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0