Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2008, 03:44 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
GhostGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,019
Default CD Keys and Warcraft III

Random question, but my cousin and I want to play Warcraft III: Frozen Throne (the expansion) together online. I have to go and buy this game since I only have the original Warcraft III, and not the expansion.

Question: I've lost my CD case a while ago and I think I'm using a random CD key that I dug up from another friend. Once I install the new expansion pack and use the new cd key, will I have any problems playing online? I figure since the original game is using a random CD key, it might give me problems.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3204Mhz ~ Tuniq Tower 120 ~Corsair XMS2 5GB ~ WD VelociRaptor 150GB Main ~ WD 1TB Black ~ EVGA 8800GTS 640MB ~ 7 Home Premium (64-Bit)
GhostGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:52 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

You can use LAN, but not the internet.
__________________

__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:58 PM   #3
Daemon Poster
 
GhostGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
You can use LAN, but not the internet.

So even though the new expansion will have its own CD key, my original game CD key will still matter?

Maybe I should just buy that "Battle Chest" or something. Damn.
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3204Mhz ~ Tuniq Tower 120 ~Corsair XMS2 5GB ~ WD VelociRaptor 150GB Main ~ WD 1TB Black ~ EVGA 8800GTS 640MB ~ 7 Home Premium (64-Bit)
GhostGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 04:06 PM   #4
BSOD
 
duxtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 175
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

You could try a torrent.
seeing as you own the game I think its legal, I could be wrong tho
duxtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 04:16 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

I don't know if online would be based off the expansion or original CD key.

The only way to figure that out is to try it. If it didn't work, then get your friend to come over for a LAN party or something.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 04:40 PM   #6
In Runtime
 
sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to sherwood Send a message via MSN to sherwood
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

You could always ring up the company and see if they would give you your key. If you paid by a card they may still have your purchase on record so thats worth tyring.
__________________
my rig: Foxconn M7VMX Series|Intel Core 2 Duo E7200GHz|2.00GB of RAM|500GB Western Digital SATA HDD|500GB Hitachi SATA|500GB Maxtor External|Nvidia GeForce 8 Serise 512MB.|400W power supply.|Windows Vista Ultimate|19" HD Monitor
sherwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:16 PM   #7
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

Can you play online now before installing the expansion pack?
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:26 PM   #8
Daemon Poster
 
GhostGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlightSimBoy View Post
I don't know if online would be based off the expansion or original CD key.

The only way to figure that out is to try it. If it didn't work, then get your friend to come over for a LAN party or something.
Yeah, LAN would be cool but I don't really game that much, so this is kind of a pasttime for weeknights if I'm home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sherwood View Post
You could always ring up the company and see if they would give you your key. If you paid by a card they may still have your purchase on record so thats worth tyring.
That would work, but I paid cash for the game, and this was YEARS ago.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Lindon View Post
Can you play online now before installing the expansion pack?
Good question, I'll try once I get home.
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3204Mhz ~ Tuniq Tower 120 ~Corsair XMS2 5GB ~ WD VelociRaptor 150GB Main ~ WD 1TB Black ~ EVGA 8800GTS 640MB ~ 7 Home Premium (64-Bit)
GhostGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 05:58 PM   #9
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

It goes by the WarCraft III: Reign of Chaos CD key. I have the battlechest and my brother was also using my key. I didn't want that because I couldn't get on. Since we both played FT we thought if he got just an expansion pack, we both could play at the same time. Wrong. You need different RoC CD keys. What you can do is play on the Azeroth server with CD key A and play on Lordearon with CD key A. Because they're different servers you won't have a problem, but then you can't play with your friend lol.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 07:41 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: CD Keys and Warcraft III

You may just have to get the battle chest.
__________________

MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0