Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2010, 12:29 PM   #11
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: CB radio

Oh knock it off, both of you.
@ winslow33 > It has been my experience in antennas that the shield braid on the antenna end has a crimp on loop connector put on it and attached to the bracket the antenna's mounted on. The radio end is grounded through the screw on connector.
When you solder on the wire to the tab on the antenna solder about a 1/4" of the center conductor to the tab. How well you solder the two together will have an effect on the balance of the radio to the antenna. In other words, no cold solder joints.

EDIT: Another thing you can do is put on a slide on connector like used for batteries, and just slide the center conductor on the tab. Make sure it's tight.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 10:21 PM   #12
Daemon Poster
 
winslow33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 861
Default Re: CB radio

Thanks for the advice Setsishock and FlightSimBoy! I installed and got it working great. Fits in good and snug where the ashtray used to be... I put the antenna on the passenger mirror..
You know your redneck when you have a shotgun shell hanging from your mirror


__________________

winslow33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 01:27 AM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: CB radio

Looks good, man! Be sure to hide those wires if you want. It's not too hard to hide wires in a truck from what I've found out. Glad it works, and enjoy it while you can. CB radio users are a dying breed.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 01:34 AM   #14
Daemon Poster
 
winslow33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 861
Default Re: CB radio

Yeah, I havnt worried too much about the wires yet most of those arnt even hooked up yet haha... the whole bench seat is nothing but tools, pieces of wire, and various parts... Turning it into more of a mud truck than anything else
winslow33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 03:38 AM   #15
Site Team
 
Lowndsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,607
Default Re: CB radio

That's the strangest place I have ever seen a CB aerial mounted
__________________
JogaBonito1502: I guess Microsoft is really not to blame. Sorry!

KMATB
Lowndsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 03:56 AM   #16
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: CB radio

I second that, why not mount it onto the bullbar or bumper bar?
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 05:35 AM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: CB radio

They're mounted like that all the time where I'm from. There is a lot of low clearance areas, and that's probably one of the best places for it if you don't want to break your antenna. It does look weird, sure, but it's effective.
__________________

__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0