Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2008, 01:30 AM   #21
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Car to house power?

well i went to radio shack tonight and they have a 25amp power supply for like 108$ and a 15 for like 80$ would the 15amp one work? at least enough for me too get a little bass. i know i need like 32amps to get the full 400watts but i dont think the sub will use that much

EDIT: well according to this guy my sub is rated at 50-300w RMS and the amp i'll be using is 400w so i dont need a full 32amps.

what do u guys think?
its a kicker competition C10a. i guess they are really nice and good quality for there time (about 99'-00')
well i did the math and the kicker can only take about 350watts max and thats about 25amps but i wont be fully on blasting this. would the 15amp power supply do?

http://www.realcaraudio.com/forums/s...49&postcount=1
__________________

__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 09:20 AM   #22
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Car to house power?

the problem with a lesser powered PSU is the heat. its like overclocking it.

I did the math, assuming audio (logarithmic) volume control and a 15 amp PSU, and you could only put it on about 7. It'd be 4 if it was a linear taper pot. thats a lot of volume you'd have

but like I said, you need to be very careful to make sure you are not overdrawing the PSU for fire safety.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 10:51 AM   #23
Daemon Poster
 
xtremezx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 915
Default Re: Car to house power?

What is the make and model of an amp. If it's a cheaper amp. Chances are the watt rating is based on 14.4 volts to make the amp seem more powerful. I would say at least pick up the 25 amp one. The 15 amp could run you into problems.
xtremezx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 11:38 AM   #24
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Car to house power?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremezx2 View Post
What is the make and model of an amp. If it's a cheaper amp. Chances are the watt rating is based on 14.4 volts to make the amp seem more powerful. I would say at least pick up the 25 amp one. The 15 amp could run you into problems.
watts are watts. the number of amps drawn depends on the voltage. the watts will always stay the same. No matter what the voltage is watts will always equal volts x amps.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:21 PM   #25
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Car to house power?

okay so i guess i'll have to get the 25amp psu. but this will def work right? i dont wanna drop 108$ and it not work lol
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 03:14 PM   #26
Daemon Poster
 
xtremezx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 915
Default Re: Car to house power?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubber314Chicken View Post
watts are watts. the number of amps drawn depends on the voltage. the watts will always stay the same. No matter what the voltage is watts will always equal volts x amps.
I was simply stating the amp may be overrated. Which if it is a cheaper amp it very likely is.

zKilla, I'm not going to say it will work for sure or not. You haven't even said what amp you are using so I can look up the specs.
xtremezx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 04:22 PM   #27
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Car to house power?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremezx2 View Post
I was simply stating the amp may be overrated. Which if it is a cheaper amp it very likely is.

zKilla, I'm not going to say it will work for sure or not. You haven't even said what amp you are using so I can look up the specs.
the watts will be the same at any voltage. the only thing that a higher voltage will do is draw less amps.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 06:48 PM   #28
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Car to house power?

i have no clue what you guys are talking about lol just tell me if it will work or not or what i need to get it working
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 09:04 PM   #29
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Car to house power?

I'd be inclined to say it will work, as long as that is the amp rating on the 12 volt bus, and you get the polarity right I can't see a reason it wouldn't
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 09:57 PM   #30
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Car to house power?

so your talking about the 25amp psu right?

this is it right here
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search
__________________

__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0