Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2008, 06:15 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default car engine swap question

i was wondering if it is possible to take a dodge car like a stratus for instance, which has around a 2-2.4L engine and swap it out with something like this:
http://www.autoguide.net/apf/dodge-c..._360rlb_2.html
i no quite a bit about cars and if i wanted i have the people around to help me, but i was wondering if it would take really heavy modification or not to get it in, if it could even go in. like i said i no about but i don't no a whole lot, so please don't flip out and call me stupid

thanks

p.s its great to be back
__________________

__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 07:13 PM   #2
Baseband Member
 
Ashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 37
Default Re: car engine swap question

Personally i would say no, not without a serious amount of custom fabrication.
But it would be a damn fun project haha.
__________________

Ashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 07:25 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: car engine swap question

usually very heavy modding and fab work needs to be done.

Assuming it fits in the first place, you'll likely need to fabricate new motor mounts, transmission mounts, probably use a whole different transmission altogether... If the car is FWD which I think it is, you need a rear wheel drive conversion which will consist of mainly (in addition to the transmission) a new driveshaft, rear differential, new suspension, possibly new axles, spindles, and brakes...

Then if that engine is fuel injected rather than carbureted, now you also need to get a PCM, rewire basically everything including your gauges, etc. etc.

I think you get the idea.
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 07:34 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: car engine swap question

I dont think it would fit without a custom hood. Putting a small block in a stratus? It will fit in a small truck easy, but I dont a stratus... Why would you want to do that anyway? Go buy yourself a challenger, lol.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 07:37 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: car engine swap question

Well you can fit a 5.0 in a Focus so... it's a possibility? lol
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 08:03 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: car engine swap question

It's an awful lot of work. I know someone who put a supercharged 502 in a Grand Am GT with the whole RWD conversion and everything. It's a lot of work.

I give you the Betty Racer....pink..it's a chicks car.

__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 08:05 PM   #7
Baseband Member
 
mr pickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 93
Default Re: car engine swap question

It would be possible but it would be a hell of a lot of work. But if you had the time and the knowledge then I'm sure it would be a worth while project
__________________
www.windows-forums.com - Sign up to get all your Windows Support & Downloads...
Plus Loads of great Competitions. The forum that rewards its members
mr pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 08:31 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: car engine swap question

5.0 is a 302, this is a 360, bigger motor. And it might be a long block, I dont really know. The ford 4.6 is a lot harder to fit then a 5.0, its actually a lot bigger. It's possible though. I would just get a car that already has a V8 or something worth the swap, or just turbo it.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 08:33 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: car engine swap question

If it's a second gen Stratus 4-door, just get SRT-4 internals and turbo. It won't work with a 2 door stratus.
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 03:42 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
mongoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to mongoman
Default Re: car engine swap question

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Lew View Post
usually very heavy modding and fab work needs to be done.

Assuming it fits in the first place, you'll likely need to fabricate new motor mounts, transmission mounts, probably use a whole different transmission altogether... If the car is FWD which I think it is, you need a rear wheel drive conversion which will consist of mainly (in addition to the transmission) a new driveshaft, rear differential, new suspension, possibly new axles, spindles, and brakes...

Then if that engine is fuel injected rather than carbureted, now you also need to get a PCM, rewire basically everything including your gauges, etc. etc.

I think you get the idea.
well i have the people around to help me, and the cars from the 90s (to the extent of my short knowledge) were fuel injected not carbourated, especially cars like the stratus, neon, civic etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
I dont think it would fit without a custom hood. Putting a small block in a stratus? It will fit in a small truck easy, but I dont a stratus... Why would you want to do that anyway? Go buy yourself a challenger, lol.
if i had the money for a challenger i wouldn't be making this thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
just turbo it.
i cant find any where around here that will carry a turbo or supercharger for a stratus

i talked to my teacher and he said it would be more work than its worth and that you would probably have trouble getting parts for it, not to mention you have replace almost everything that connects to the engine itself (im guessing brake lines for instance). if i choose to just get the engine rebuilt will i see performance gains?
__________________

__________________
||Intel Core i5 @ 4.1ghz||Intel DP55KG||Corsair 750w psu||8gb G. Skill ram||120gb intel ssd 2x 1.5tb WD Green||MSI Gtx 970||
mongoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0