Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2009, 09:22 AM   #11
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

well if there is a way to get a 1/8" line in you could buy a cheap little behringer preamp and then run the 58 to that into the camera.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 11:11 AM   #12
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
What model do you have?
Canon HV30 is going to be our main camera, our backup will be my Canon Elura 80.
__________________

__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:11 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
Canon HV30 is going to be our main camera, our backup will be my Canon Elura 80.
hv30 has a 1/8" input



what mode are you going to be shooting in?

k well i found this for you

http://cgi.ebay.ca/Rode-VideoMic-Vid...iewItemQQptZLH
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 05:42 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

We honestly don't know the full potential of the camera, but we will be shooting on HD-mini-DV tapes, on an HD setting...

So you think a shotgun mic would be the way to go for shooting dialogue scenes in a movie?
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 05:47 PM   #15
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
We honestly don't know the full potential of the camera, but we will be shooting on HD-mini-DV tapes, on an HD setting...

So you think a shotgun mic would be the way to go for shooting dialogue scenes in a movie?
don't waste your money on "HD" mini dv tapes. the regular ones are exactly the same. its a marketing gimmick.

And yes, a shotgun mic is the best choice for dialogue unless you have the money to spend on clip on mics + broadcaster/receiver boxes

also, make sure you shoot in 24p (24 frames per second progressive) because you don't want interlaced footage, believe me.
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:10 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Oh, he insists the HD tapes increased qaulity.

I will have to figure out how to use that 24p mode.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:16 PM   #17
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
Oh, he insists the HD tapes increased qaulity.

I will have to figure out how to use that 24p mode.
lol they record the same way. Its a digital signal, not analog. Thats just like insisting that monster brand HDMI cables are better than 12 dollar HDMI cables from the local electronics store. A digital signal cannot degrade in quality

24p mode, its called like cine-something or some shit like that
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:31 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Ok, sweet. I think we got the 24p mode one, lol. I read about canon's "24p" mode though. Its 18 progressive frames, then 12 interlaced frames. So it's not real 24p. But a program called Neo Scene, can fix it apparently.
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 10:02 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by superman22x View Post
Ok, sweet. I think we got the 24p mode one, lol. I read about canon's "24p" mode though. Its 18 progressive frames, then 12 interlaced frames. So it's not real 24p. But a program called Neo Scene, can fix it apparently.
no no no :P it IS real progressive mode, but to record to tape, it has to do 3:2 pulldown or whatever its called, which results in the 18 progressive + 12 interlaced. You can undo that..
http://eugenia.gnomefiles.org/2007/0...-24p-pulldown/

my dvx100 does the same thing except its a little easier to remove the pulldown
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 10:48 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Camera mic/Boom Mic

Oh, ok, I gotcha. That process seems pretty complicated... I could probably figure it out, but my friend will do most of the editing, unless we are forced to use iMovie at school. And he is quit stubborn, and will not be convinced to go through that process. It takes quite a bit of nagging to get him to even edit or do something that's due soon... He has no idea of time it seems...
And to think, he wants to become a director... He will learn the hard way that being stubborn gets you no where... cause he is too stubborn to learn it now.

Does that Neo Scene program fix the pulldown on its own?
__________________

__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0