Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2007, 07:46 AM   #21
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by whizzell View Post
getting into people routers these days is like a sport to some people. i know a guy who does it all the time. Even secure ones, spoofing mac addresses, stealthing packets so that you can establish the WPA
He shouldn't do it, IMO it's a definite no no!!, does it all the time?, ye gods, he's a menace, do you know him well, if you do, is he the sort of guy that you'd be able to dissuade to stop this?
__________________

Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2007, 04:41 PM   #22
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookfield View Post
He shouldn't do it, IMO it's a definite no no!!, does it all the time?, ye gods, he's a menace, do you know him well, if you do, is he the sort of guy that you'd be able to dissuade to stop this?
ok hes actually talking about me
ive mac spoofed before, but my neighbours have 1 unsecured and 1 secure router, all i did was gain access to the second one. ive also attempted to crack some wep keys before, purely for testing purposes (not to get into someone elses network to steal stuff), but have never successfully done it. i think he went a bit ott. although i like trying things out, even the odd "hack". some have been successful and some have not. i most definitely dont do it all the time and i certainly havent/dont want to hurt anyone
i wouldnt say im a menace

edit: whizzells my mate from school btw. i think he posted this just to make me seem like a bit of a mad man
to be fair our business studies lesson was pretty boring so we had no choice but to browse cf
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:34 AM   #23
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 27
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

hehe dude_Se you do do it as a sport whether through intrege or just stupidity you violate at least 3 privacy laws a day and thats just at home :P lol... god knows how many laws you broke at school today (with my help ;-)) but ye, apparently brookfield thinks i should persuade you against it so here goes...

DOM - You could get into big trouble for this you could get kicked out of school get fined and even imprisoned :P
whizzell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 12:01 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

ok maybe i was involved in some slight hacking today. wasnt really hacking though. i was just recovering a wep key on a network i was connected to because i "forgot" it
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 11:10 AM   #25
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Thumbs down Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se View Post
ok maybe i was involved in some slight hacking today. wasnt really hacking though. i was just recovering a wep key on a network i was connected to because i "forgot" it
You two, sort it out by PM's as of now
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 12:28 PM   #26
Fully Optimized
 
MooseMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,627
Send a message via AIM to MooseMan
Question Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookfield View Post
You two, sort it out by PM's as of now
i'm kindof confused as to what the problem is I don't see a problem here...
__________________
.::The top folder on the CF F@H team::.
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=42655
MooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 12:34 PM   #27
In Runtime
 
AllThingsSacred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 302
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Network security is not infallible. With the right tools, anyone can get through any security measures and do whatever they should wish. It is illegal but there are no life sentences involved and private negotiation with the other party should usually smooth over any poor relations.
__________________
Patrick Moore
Born London, Live London, Die London
As a Londoner, I exercise my God given Right to do as I please
AllThingsSacred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2007, 02:30 PM   #28
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

im not even hacking anyway. i have access to the network. im just recovering the key so i can use it on my laptop, big deal.
no one is saying what programs to use, suggesting that you should cause damage,etc
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0