Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2007, 02:40 AM   #1
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Bypassed security enabled network

Lol, I was playing around with my Intenet connection because it hasn't been working for the last few days here at the house. I tried a lot of different things, but nothing. I see a lot of wireless networks available but all of them are security enabled networks. So I decided to play with some of them to see if I know what the security password was on some of them.

I got into one just now and the password happens to be their telephone number!! I can't believe it. It has super strength and I'm cruising on the Net. Man, I can't believe I got into their private network. Lucky hack I guess....they'll probably be wondering, "who's PC is that?" when they see it pop up in their network map, lol. I just hope they're not too computer saavy and won't notice anything out of the ordinary.
__________________

__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 05:19 AM   #2
Wizard of Wires
 
setishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Not sure
Posts: 10,030
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Yeah and just think of how many federal laws you're violating.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 05:22 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by ISOwner View Post
Lol, I was playing around with my Intenet connection because it hasn't been working for the last few days here at the house. I tried a lot of different things, but nothing. I see a lot of wireless networks available but all of them are security enabled networks. So I decided to play with some of them to see if I know what the security password was on some of them.

I got into one just now and the password happens to be their telephone number!! I can't believe it. It has super strength and I'm cruising on the Net. Man, I can't believe I got into their private network. Lucky hack I guess....they'll probably be wondering, "who's PC is that?" when they see it pop up in their network map, lol. I just hope they're not too computer saavy and won't notice anything out of the ordinary.
Hmmm, looks dangerous, I suggest that you do more digging purely to find out if he is a techie, & if it's plain that he is [there'll be signs] get out fast & cover your tracks if you can!!
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 06:59 AM   #4
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

i use my neighbours all the time. they did have 2 routers, one unsecure and one with wpa, but the unsecured one seems to have gone but luckily i took note of the wpa key and spoofed my mac address so i can use it
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 07:45 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
Brookfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,056
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_se View Post
i use my neighbours all the time. they did have 2 routers, one unsecure and one with wpa, but the unsecured one seems to have gone but luckily i took note of the wpa key and spoofed my mac address so i can use it
Spoofed your mac address?, hmmm, sounds dodgy, is it?
Brookfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 08:17 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookfield View Post
Spoofed your mac address?, hmmm, sounds dodgy, is it?
no
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 09:00 AM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,946
Send a message via AIM to Juice Send a message via MSN to Juice
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

If you're cool with the neighbors, go into their house and write down the WPA key if it is a WPA secured network.
__________________
Juice
P4 2.4GHz, 1.5Gb, 40Gb.
PowerBook G4 867MHz, 1Gb, 60Gb.
Juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 11:43 AM   #8
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookfield View Post
Spoofed your mac address?, hmmm, sounds dodgy, is it?
With the retardness of Cable ISP's, Spoofing mac addresses is something that has to be done in alot of cases. Most modern routers support it.
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 11:48 AM   #9
BSOD
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 508
Send a message via AIM to BF2player
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

I feed off my neighbors internet all the time(well when my internet is off). I'm sure my computer shows up in the system, but obviously they don't care. I do notice a lot of lag while on their internet, but who am I to complain?
BF2player is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 01:12 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: Bypassed security enabled network

I know the neighbors (that I tapped into--which is how I got their phone number in case of any emergency's), but we never talk about computers and internet stuff so the topic never comes up. I changed my PC name though so it's anonoymous. Now the network is private. I don't think they have a MAC filter setup, otherwise, I would never have gotten in.

I got lucky with their encryption password. You know how there are secure networks with the padlock next to it? It always ask you for the key before it allows you in. Man, that was funny though how they used their phone number instead of some random alpha/numeric code (like I do).
__________________

__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0