Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2009, 03:11 PM   #11
(╯□)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

Firefox 3 crashed a lot for me, i get so annoyed when im DL a file thats over a gig or uploading videos, and somehow it just crashes, and i have to start over.

But its getting better now... i guess.
__________________

__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 03:44 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

Did they fix the security issues with Chrome?

Edit: Joga, do you use the Speed Dial extension? It makes my Firefox crash too, but I've never had the OS crash, even on the six computers I have it installed on.
__________________

__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:02 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
PokerDegenerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,465
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

I have never had a problem with Firefox just randomly shutting down...I usually have at least 4-7 tabs at a time open and am playing on a game site that uses java...I browse a bunch of crap, read the news, post on forums, and play chess all at the same time and have never once had it crash on me...Sometimes I even mix in a little full tilt poker in the mix too. I have Firefox on both my laptop and desktop and have never had a problem with either of em...
__________________
Raidmax Smilodon Extreme Black Case -|-AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE @ 3829.50 Mhz (18.5 x 207, vcore 1.424, NB 2600 mhz, HT link 2200 mhz) -|- Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V -|- Gigabyte MA790XT-UD4P Mobo -|- G. Skill 6Gb (3 x 2Gb) DDR3 1333 RAM 7-7-7-18-2t -|- WD Caviar 7200 RPM 1 TB HDD -|- OCZ GameXtreme 700W -|- Radeon 4870 1Gb @ 780/1050 -|- Asus VW202NR 20" wide-screen -|- Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit -|- Saitek Cyborg Keyboard -|- Razer Lachesis Mouse
PokerDegenerate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:04 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

I haven't had any problem with firefox whatsoever on any of my computers. It even works fine in windows 7 too. I still use chrome occasionally though just for a change.

I wish chrome would get a better zoom functionality like in firefox 3
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 05:49 PM   #15
Site Team
 
T-MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,058
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
Lately, Firefox has been crashing a lot. I have no idea why. I always keep 4 tabs or so open with the websites I visit regularly. It's been getting annoying because first is firefox, then it crashes my whole computer. I'm downloading Chrome as we speak.
I would say it is a possibility one of your add ons is corrupt and causing it.
__________________
1st Puter - Intel Pent D 3.4GHz, 2 GIG Ram, GeForce 9800GT, Windows 7 Home.
2nd Puter - AMD Athlon Dual Core 2.69GHz, 2 GIG Ram, GeForce 7600GT, XP Home.
Lappy - Intel Dual Core 1.73GHz, 2 GIG Ram, Vista Home Premium.
Piss off George Monks = gmcrepair? YES, YES it was.
Yeah he likes to boost his count.
T-MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:22 PM   #16
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

Well I love Chrome and also for me recently Firefox has been taking up more resources than I think it needs to, and would switch to Chrome if it wasn't for all my addons. If it weren't for the addons it'd be bye bye Firefox for me too!
Mattyl110792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:28 PM   #17
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

The only add-on I use is AdBlock. I do run a couple Java apps, but that's something I've always done and it's never crashed. I'm running defrags, cleanups, etc...

I'll stick with Chrome for a while see if I like it. The only thing bugging me right now is that scroll deal.

@Cabbs: No I don't use it.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:30 PM   #18
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by JogaBonito1502 View Post
The only add-on I use is AdBlock. I do run a couple Java apps, but that's something I've always done and it's never crashed. I'm running defrags, cleanups, etc...

I'll stick with Chrome for a while see if I like it. The only thing bugging me right now is that scroll deal.

@Cabbs: No I don't use it.
I didn't see a problem with scrolling (Probably cause i'm on a laptop with the little scroll thing), but the best part was how quick it started up compared to firefox, it was like instant!
Mattyl110792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:34 PM   #19
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

Yeah...I like the whole tab/window thing they got going on. If I can get used to actually using my mouse scroll instead of clicking it and moving the mouse, then it looks like I'll stay with it.
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:38 PM   #20
Daemon Poster
 
netBooger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 557
Send a message via AIM to netBooger Send a message via MSN to netBooger
Default Re: Bye Bye Firefox

My Firefox would work with everything to include all Java apps with the exception of my fantasy league live scoring. It would run for a little bit and then would error out.

But I just installed Chrome and think I will use it instead.
__________________

__________________
|| Cosmos 1000 || Asus Maximus Formula SE || Q6850 3.00GHz || Zalman 9700NT || BFG 8800GTX OC || 4GB Corsair Dominator 1066mhz || Enermax Galaxy 850W || Windows Vista Ultimate 64 || WD Raptor 150GB x2 + WD Caviar 350GB ||
netBooger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0