Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2010, 02:00 PM   #1
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 684
Default blu-ray

I noticed that some movies that are out on blu-ray are movies that are over 10 years old. so how would the get the quality better.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5600+|Asus m3a|4GB RAM|Nvidia Geforce 9500 gt|320 GB Seagate Hard Drive
ringtemek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 02:25 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: blu-ray

http://pic.templetons.com/brad/photo/pixels.html

They sourced it directly from the film.
__________________

__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:31 PM   #3
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: blu-ray

Quote:
Originally Posted by ringtemek View Post
I noticed that some movies that are out on blu-ray are movies that are over 10 years old. so how would the get the quality better.
Yeah I always wondered that, like a 20 year old movie coming out in HD
__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:36 PM   #4
In Runtime
 
Lennox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 167
Default Re: blu-ray

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://pic.templetons.com/brad/photo/pixels.html
The very short answer is that there are around 20 million "quality" pixels in a top-quality 35mm shot.
So if someone made a DVD or Blu-Ray disc that had that kind of resolution, it would be around a couple of terabytes big, right?
__________________
Zotac 630i-Supreme Motherboard | Intel Pentium Dual-Core 2.5Ghz E5200 | ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB GDDR3 | 2x2GB DDR2 RAM | 1TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata II | 300GB Seagate SATA II
28" Hanns-G Monitor HG281D | Logitech G15 Keyboard v2 | Trust MI-7700R Wireless Mouse | Saitek GH30 Headset
Lennox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:38 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: blu-ray

I'm not sure, but I know DVD and Blu-ray discs aren't big enough to support that type of resolution.
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:41 PM   #6
In Runtime
 
Lennox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 167
Default Re: blu-ray

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
I'm not sure, but I know DVD and Blu-ray discs aren't big enough to support that type of resolution.
But if they did, the size of the DVD\Blu-Ray would be a couple of hundred terabytes. This is Year 2200 technology.
__________________
Zotac 630i-Supreme Motherboard | Intel Pentium Dual-Core 2.5Ghz E5200 | ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB GDDR3 | 2x2GB DDR2 RAM | 1TB Western Digital Caviar Green Sata II | 300GB Seagate SATA II
28" Hanns-G Monitor HG281D | Logitech G15 Keyboard v2 | Trust MI-7700R Wireless Mouse | Saitek GH30 Headset
Lennox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 04:31 AM   #7
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: blu-ray

Analog is far beyond what Digital can do. Its just too complex for today's technology to be fast enough. Digital is a lot faster/more predictable, but that doesn't really make it better.

For example. The fastest way to transmit more data through radio waves? Transmit it digitally to open up more channels. Hence Digital Radio. Is the quality better? Not really, but the signals a lot cleaner, as its easier to pass over in its original form.

Anything compressed, which isn't the original form is pretty much a negative over original analog recordings.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0