Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2008, 02:02 AM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default a blackberry question.

Ok so i have the BlackBerry Smartphone with the built in GPS device. Now i don't have an unlimited data plan, just unlimited email. the software that comes on the blackberry requires the usage of data...which in my case is out of question for now.

My question is, is there a program out there for the blackberry that can be used with my gps device...just like the car ones?
__________________

__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 02:26 AM   #2
In Runtime
 
McTrAyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 221
Default Re: a blackberry question.

Probably not because the blackberry gets charged to use the data, while another may not charge, but the actual unit is more expensive depending on how often you use it.
__________________

__________________
PC: 2.2Ghz AMD 64 X2 4600+
2GB Corsair Ram
160GB WD Hard Drive
"If your going to skate on thin ice, don't be surprised when you fall through!"
McTrAyN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 02:34 AM   #3
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: a blackberry question.

I'm pretty sure it'll use your data plan because most of those GPS programs use your carrier's network as the GPS.
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 05:00 AM   #4
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: a blackberry question.

it's depend what OS is was running.

since you've given so little information I'll have to assume some things.

first, if your GPS uses data transfer to help position it, then frankly it's crap. really really crap.

get a cheap GPS unit that's separate from the phone that you'll be able to connect to with blue tooth.
http://shop.ebay.com/items/_W0QQ_nkw...romZR40QQ_mdoZ

of course if your phone has real GPS then this step is unnecessary.


if it is one of th newer blackberries that do have real GPS built in then it's likely running some kind of version of windows mobile.
so go get a copy of the tom tom mobile software, and this will give you the GPS you want for a (relativity) cheap price.

you *can* pirate tom tom. however I advise that you don't.

mostly because they actually stopped letting devices use the software without a uniquely generated device code, so if you try to pirate you'll be stuck with version 5, (about 5 years old now).
without the ability to upgrade to new maps.

to be fair you won't get a much better price that just buying it anyway, having looked on www.tomtom.com detailed maps of the entire of western Europe cost only £87, you could spend more than that on paper map books.

sadly there are no prices on the US version of the site.
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 08:55 AM   #5
BSOD
 
loppsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 229
Default Re: a blackberry question.

I have had the troubles with getting messages on the MSN on blackberry. So it is only blackberry related issue?
loppsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 09:50 AM   #6
Golden Master
 
borat_sagdiyev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8,986
Send a message via AIM to borat_sagdiyev Send a message via MSN to borat_sagdiyev
Default Re: a blackberry question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by root View Post
it's depend what OS is was running.

since you've given so little information I'll have to assume some things.

first, if your GPS uses data transfer to help position it, then frankly it's crap. really really crap.

get a cheap GPS unit that's separate from the phone that you'll be able to connect to with blue tooth.
http://shop.ebay.com/items/_W0QQ_nkw...romZR40QQ_mdoZ

of course if your phone has real GPS then this step is unnecessary.


if it is one of th newer blackberries that do have real GPS built in then it's likely running some kind of version of windows mobile.
so go get a copy of the tom tom mobile software, and this will give you the GPS you want for a (relativity) cheap price.

you *can* pirate tom tom. however I advise that you don't.

mostly because they actually stopped letting devices use the software without a uniquely generated device code, so if you try to pirate you'll be stuck with version 5, (about 5 years old now).
without the ability to upgrade to new maps.

to be fair you won't get a much better price that just buying it anyway, having looked on www.tomtom.com detailed maps of the entire of western Europe cost only £87, you could spend more than that on paper map books.

sadly there are no prices on the US version of the site.
lol blackberries run blackberry OS. I tried helping him but I couldn't find a program that did GPS with pre-downloaded maps.

I can't believe that some people actually think that GPS in itself, uses data. (not root, but other people in this thread)
__________________
Core 2 Duo e4500 2.2ghz @ 2.8ghz
evga 650i ultra
2gb 400mhz ram OC'ed to 450
evga geforce 7600GT overclocked
borat_sagdiyev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 10:16 AM   #7
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: a blackberry question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvino View Post
I'm pretty sure it'll use your data plan because most of those GPS programs use your carrier's network as the GPS.
Nah, That's not GPS, so to speak. I think it's triangulation, because they work out which phone masts you're connected to.
j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 11:20 AM   #8
Site Team
 
root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8,007
Default Re: a blackberry question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by borat_sagdiyev View Post
lol blackberries run blackberry OS. I tried helping him but I couldn't find a program that did GPS with pre-downloaded maps.

I can't believe that some people actually think that GPS in itself, uses data. (not root, but other people in this thread)
yes, my bad.

it's windows devices that can run blackberry OS emulator/virtualisations not the other way around.
__________________
I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian…
Im sick of people saying 'dont waste paper'. If trees wanted to live, they'd all carry guns.
"The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; The inherent vice of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries."
root is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 12:29 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: a blackberry question.

well with my looking around...my best bet is to just get the unlimited data plan for $30 from Bell. Would mean only $15.00 more then what i'm paying now...no biggy.

Thank you everyone for you help
__________________

__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0