Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Join Computer forums Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2007, 07:13 PM   #11
Site Team
superman22x's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: black bars on HD films, annoying

Yeah, I dont really mind the black bars, kinda like them actualy, cool looking, lol. They film in different aspect ratios, cause it just depends on the film and cameras used. Some smaller movies get away with digital HD cameras, but the big ones will use real fim cameras, which costa thousands and thousands in film, and the film might use different ratios, so they dont crop it at all for widescreen. Plus the makes a difference too. They want to get them fairly wide, but the TVs are still 16:9 cause some widescreen movies are filmed in that ratio, those are probably the digital filim movies. Because it is set up on the camera to be 16:9, or whatever you like probably.

“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 09:21 PM   #12
Golden Master
Kage's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: black bars on HD films, annoying

Yeah, oh well...can't be helped.

Ice Age 2 looks fantastic! Animatoins seem to deiver the best in quality when it comes to HD. Those, and films with a lot of scenic back drops and settings like that, that use al the detal.

Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 08:10 AM   #13
In Runtime
Webhead's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 159
Send a message via MSN to Webhead
Default Re: black bars on HD films, annoying

Have look on the TV''s menu under Display settings there should be some options where you can zoom the picture in or something like that.

New PC Specs: Intel Core 2 Qaud Q9950 1.83GHZ (Overclocked to 3GHZ), 4GB RAM PC-6400, Samsung F1 1000GB Hard Drive, Asus P5Q Pro Motherboard, Antec Freezer 7 Pro, Antec Three Hundred PC Case, Lite-ON DVD RW. Laptop Specs: Model HP Pavilion DV6174ea, Intel Core 2 Duo 5500 (1.66ghz), 2gb ram, Nvidia Geforce 7400 Go 256mb (128 dedicated, 128 turbocache), Wifi, DVD RW with lightscribe technology, and has a remote control as well!
Webhead is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0