Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2009, 09:54 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Doesn't make sense...
A trillion is a lot more than a billion, so how can the money add up to much more somewhere else?

Unless it's because of the simple fact that £1 could = £2 somewhere else for example, in which case, that does make sense.
__________________

__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 09:55 PM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
Holysky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,692
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 63083 View Post
Sand and money are not the same things though. And sand is sand. Not all money is the same money. You are comparing different things that cannot be compared in that manner. Compare trees and money. Much better. Lol.
It's a metaphor lol
__________________

__________________
Let's get this party started, I'm sick of begging you You make me dead inside which I give to you
Let's get this party started, You make me feel inside I want to be the one to make myself sane
Holysky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 09:57 PM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holysky View Post
It's a metaphor lol
Oh boo hoo. It doesn't work. He's comparing worthless sand to worthless sand as the Euro is to the Japanese Yen. See the flaw now?
__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 09:59 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
Holysky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,692
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

ummmmm? ok? It's a metaphor as in a figure of speech?
__________________
Let's get this party started, I'm sick of begging you You make me dead inside which I give to you
Let's get this party started, You make me feel inside I want to be the one to make myself sane
Holysky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 10:13 PM   #15
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Hmm. . .
Me thinks superman22x may have left out a bit of important information in the original post.

Was the Spanish teacher discussing the differences in the conversion of monetary value between the two countries?
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 12:32 AM   #16
Golden Master
 
superman22x's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to superman22x Send a message via Yahoo to superman22x
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

No... I put everything in. He probably left something out when he told us. He always tells us random facts that don't make any sense...
I was sort spacing off when he said it, but when he said, "1 billion = 1 trillion." I spoke up real quick, "Mr. Valdez, WTH are you talking about?!? Doesn't make any sense." And he repeated it. I think he was making something up, or he misheard it. He tells us things like this a lot.

He is trying really hard to learn english and all and all about the different forms of english... He still says, "Can you mind?" Instead of, "Can you imagine?" We never corrected him on that, cause it's so funny... But he does random things, and takes things the wrong way a lot...
__________________
“Adults are just obsolete children and the hell with them.” - Dr. Suess
superman22x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 12:33 AM   #17
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
 
Teny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Uhh... I thought the US uses an different number system than other countries, like the metric system.

In the US, its trillion, but in other countries its billion

http://www.unc.edu/~rowlett/units/large.html
http://www.jimloy.com/math/billion.htm
__________________
Desktop -Cooler Master NV690/AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE/MSI 880G-E45 Motherboard/2 x 2GB DDR3 G.Skill Ripjaws X/Sapphire HD 5870 1GB GDDR5/CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX/Seagate 7200.12 500GB (OS), Samsung F3 1TB (Storage)/Sony DVD Burner/Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Teny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 02:25 AM   #18
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Well lookie there. You learn something new every day.

Nice find Teny.
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 02:28 AM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
Well lookie there. You learn something new every day.

Nice find Teny.
Can and most often do. Though most don't realize it. Even people 60+ years old almost always learn something new every day.
__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 03:29 AM   #20
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: Billion= Trillion in Britian?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
That really doesn't make any sense at all. So, by your teacher's logic, 1 trillion grains of sand in the United States is equal to 1 billion grains of sand in the UK.
No , but one trillion grains of sand in the USA is equal to one billion grains of sand in spain
As i said before its to do with the different ways of incrementing numbers once you get to a million

Besides which sand wouldnt be measured/sold by the number of grains but by weight
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0