The Big Bang - Just a fun discussion

iPwn

..m.0,0.m..,
First off, Rules:
1. No Religious nuts! I consider myself spiritual, but I'm also open minded so I don't want any "Jesus! That's how!" style comments.
2. Comments should contain either proof (please cite, I want to know), or reason (logical reasoning).
3. Opinions are welcome, but again, please explain the reasoning behind them.

Second off, purpose:
I'm not a scientist and I'm making the below assumptions based only on what I myself have learned from others' research. If you know more, that's what I'm looking for. That and a friendly debate.

Onward!

I watched a show last night that covered the Big Bang Theory, I believe it was "How The Universe Works", Ep.1, "The Big Bang".

In it scientists (and some very well renowned ones) were explaining the beginning moments of the Universe. They described how they came to some of the conclusions, but not others.

I gotta tell you, some of the things they spoke about like they are scientific fact, were absolutely preposterous (IMHO) and don't even pass a smell test! Now, I get the logic behind why we believe that everything started from a big bang, specifically the Universe's expansion.... it only seems reasonable that if everything is headed in an 'outward' direction, it must have come from a point of intense singularity. However, some other things they were stating as fact were a little hard to swallow. Specifically:

When the Big Bang initially happened, most everything happened within a single second. In this second, there was a huge fight between matter and anti-matter where there proved to be more matter than anti-matter. Thus, everything you see around you is the 'left-over' matter from all of it colliding and cancelling each other out.
My Beef: That claim would mean anti-matter was wiped out of existence (if matter came out on top... anti-matter must be gone). So why do we believe it still to exist? Or am I confusing this with dark matter?