Best type of Degree to get??

evan.briggs

In Runtime
I am currently a System Administrator in the US Army and I am leaving the military very soon. I WILL be using my GI BILL, but I kind of torn on what degree would be best to further my education in System Administration. I was looking online and saw like "Network System Administration" from Devry, but is that really best for that? Or should i go with something more general like "Informations Systems" or something like that? I would most appreciate the feed back because im kind of going crazy about deciding which is best..

Thank!

I can't really answer for the US, but here in Denmark there are no "best" education.
It's all about what you want. I have the education "IT supporter" and i could continues to become a "datamatiker" (Something that is more adjusted for networking) It's does not give much more payment, and i just wanted to get off the school bench (sense i have been on the bench sense first grade. it has to stop somewhere). so i stooped at IT supporter. compare me to one of my friends that is taking the "datamatiker", He is still living with his parents and reading books. I am actually working and adding experience to my Resumé.
So no one else but yourself can tell what is right for you.

Do not attend a 'for profit' school
E.g. Devry, ITT-Tech, Westwood College, College America, IBMC, etc

Attend a public university, or any organization that is "regionally accredited". Nationally accredited schools will (mostly) get you a degree that isn't worth the paper it's printed on.