Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2008, 08:00 AM   #1
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Backups?

How often do you backup,how do you backup,and what do you backup?

Me,I backup the important stuff as soon as it's been modified (Music,Movies,Pictures).I make a direct image of my hardrive using acronis every few months or so.All my backups go on my portable hardrive.
__________________

__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 08:04 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Backups?

never backup lol
all my music and important docs are on my external anyway. if my laptop blows up ill only lose a few downloads.

im going to start backing up more though
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 08:06 AM   #3
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Backups?

What external hdd have you got? I just hope they are reliable (Im pretty sure they are),Mine has my life on it
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 12:48 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Backups?

Everything I have is contained on the 2 hard drives that are installed in my fileserver. I also have most of it backed up on dvd's. I set up the fileserver after I got my new laptop so I wouldn't cram that up with stuff.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:01 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Backups?

All music, pictures, and other important data is on my main PC's hard drive, an exact copy exists on my 2nd PC in the office.

Most of the data is backed up on to DVD as well.
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:06 PM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
ilovepcs25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 995
Default Re: Backups?

im copying all my crap onto my laptop and using my desktop as a spare pc incase my laptop decides to muck up but ive got a copy of all my docs,music,videos on my desktop so i can access them.
im probably gonna get a external hdd to use to help transfer some files.
ilovepcs25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:10 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 3,390
Default Re: Backups?

I have Acronis as well but I use it for duplicating HD's and other things...

I have a RAID 1 array for all my important stuff and all my music production, samples, music, photos, instruction manuals, PDF files, videos and other stuff is stored on my RAID 1 array and updated straight away when I save.

This, to me, is one of the best ways to protect what ever you need to protect and is the same as an external HD that contains 2 HD's that you can RAID. Single HD back-ups just don't make sense to me.
__________________
Lenovo ThinkPad T410 - i7 620M - 8GB RAM - Crucial M4 120GB SSD - 250GB 2nd drive - Intel HD 3000 GPU - 1440x900 - Windows 7/8
REMENIZ Computers
Remeniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 01:39 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Backups?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
What external hdd have you got? I just hope they are reliable (Im pretty sure they are),Mine has my life on it
WD 500gb external.
its pretty good. hasnt failed me yet, even when i converted it to ntfs, messed about with it loads to convert back to fat32 (i have my reasons)
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 02:04 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Backups?

I back up on whatever media I have at the moment. My most recent backups were temporary, just so I could save my music, and few personal documents. I used a 4 GB flash drive, 4 GB SD card, 256 GB flash drive and 2 DVDs.

When I do "permanent" backups, I usually use DVDs. Single-layer, unfortunately. I need a stack of dual-layered, that way I may only need one instead of 2. But these backups are usually labeled with the date and what they were like "Music Backup 6/29/08" or something like that.

I need to get a portable hard drive. Maybe one of those 500 GB My Books from WD.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 05:18 PM   #10
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Backups?

I have a file server that gets backup daily by tape. All my data and CF backups are stored on it
__________________

__________________
[url=http://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0