Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2007, 02:15 PM   #1
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Awsome, have you seen...

Have any of you with vista noticed the "Live CD" option when you put in a black CD for windows to burn with? When you do you can format it as a "live CD" (in atleast home premium, don't know about basic) and use the cd as a flash drive! I was able to copy and paste files to and from it, as well as delete the files!

Windows XP could read the Cd, but i forgot to try adding/removing files to it.

I'm sure this could go other places, but i figured this would get more people to see it. I must say though that i was impressed with it. Never thought that was even possible off of a CD-R I figured it would need a re-writeable CD but you dont.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 02:17 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

it works with a cd-r .... damn i need to re download vista!
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 02:19 PM   #3
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

Yeah, it supprised me too. i felt stupid though because i look for like 15 minutes trying to burn the file to the cd... only to realise what it really was.

lol and people say vista doesn't have anything usefull.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 03:17 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

Hmmm, are you sure it was rewriting a CD-R? I know its vista, but its just not possible to do that with a CD-R, because the dye on a disc doesnt allow it (im not gonna get technical here) I manufactured these for 8 yrs lol. Are you sure its not just adding more to the disc, try it and see if the space keeps going down.
Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 03:32 PM   #5
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

idk if it was truly re-writing it, but at the very least it was not able to be seen. maybe jsut kinda crossed off and space not useable anymore, i shoulda checked that out, but it never occured to me.

either way, it impressed me, i never heard the disk write, but it had to seeing as how an XP machine could read the file i put on it.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 03:36 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

Never saw this before and I use Vista.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 03:38 PM   #7
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

really?? what version of vista do you have? Then one i was playing around with was Home Premium 32 bit.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 04:41 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

a bit more info would be good. there doesnt seem to be a certain answer.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 04:45 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

Quote:
Originally Posted by celegorm View Post
really?? what version of vista do you have? Then one i was playing around with was Home Premium 32 bit.
Like in my sig, Home Premium 32-bit.
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2007, 05:47 PM   #10
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Awsome, have you seen...

hmm... try putting a blank CD, open up what used to be my computer, double click the drive to bring up the formatting options. Thats how i got the thing to come up, see if it works for you.
__________________

__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0