Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2006, 08:04 PM   #1
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default AOE III: My point

OK, via a few days, I played AOE III.

First off, with the resolution of 1024x768, I get like ~5FPS...if not down to 0FPS

Once to 800x600, I can define better the quality.

Second, I find the game good. The graphics are much improved, the way that the fight gets on...BUT, when using the Senario Editor, I ge confused. I am an AOE and AOE II user and the senarios were the same almost. This game, on the other hand, is completely different. I have to go to the menu to test it too. Preety hard may I say.

Next, The online games: They look decent

at last, This game is preety stuffed. I sometimes barely can see the stuff going on as the taskbar is like HUGE! my AOE game is much smaller than this!

This game, is also stripped from AOM, such as the taskbar.

Overall score: 8.33/10.01
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 08:39 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
UK31337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,776
Default Re: AOE III: My point

If you're getting 5 FPS on 1024x768, I'd say your GPU and/or its drivers were the root of the problem. The game itself runs fine, and it doesn't need a top-end 1337 rig to do it either. I've managed to get about 35FPS on Medium out of an FX5200 of all things.
__________________

__________________
Master of common sense. If you don't like it, stop reading.
UK31337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 09:06 PM   #3
In Runtime
 
Conspirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 218
Default Re: AOE III: My point

Even on an X300, it lags... I suggest just turning off the glow effect; that should give you at least a playable rate. Turn down the visuals to low quality, and it should run flawlessly*.


*- The game is still a dissapointment, even with a playable fps rate.
__________________
X2 3800+, Corsair XMS Platinum (2x1GB), eVGA 7900GTCO, eVGA nForce4 SLI Mainboard, Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic, Logitech Z-2300 200W, Steelsound 5H Gaming Headset, Saitek Eclipse, Logitech G7, ViewSonic VX2235WM 22" LCD
Conspirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 11:26 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
ISOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,208
Default Re: AOE III: My point

It looks similar to AOM, but the physics are improved. I've beaten the whole game countless times and on difficulty setting. The trade posts makes it so easy. Just defend it well and have troops placed near town entrance and there's no way you can be beat. The enemy will eventually exhaust their resources because you have all the trading posts occupied and their trees and gold are out too.

As far as the technical aspect of the game, I have experienced no slowdown whatsoever. Plays great. The 19" screen is just superb when playing this game. Very nice view of the town and the controls are super easy. I love the Town Center feature because that also helps you get resources too.

OVerall, this game is by far, the easiest to play making it not very challenging. AOEII on the other hand, is a great game without the better graphics of AOEIII. It's a lot harder which creates many challenges that keeps me on my toes. Still, you got to love how AOEIII looks and feel.
__________________
*Fact: Microsoft Window's Blue Screen of Death vs Computerforums.org's White Screen of Death. Which is worse?
ISOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 07:35 AM   #5
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: AOE III: My point

AOEII is harder for sure, but AOE is the hardest.
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 09:03 AM   #6
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: AOE III: My point

Whats aoe3? lmfao
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 09:05 AM   #7
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: AOE III: My point

Age Of Empires III
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2006, 09:53 AM   #8
BSOD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7,539
Send a message via AIM to Trivium Nate
Default Re: AOE III: My point

o,lol
Trivium Nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 05:27 AM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
technoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,382
Default Re: AOE III: My point

i am a AOE II Kings fan myself. I haven't brought AOE III yet!!
__________________
~~~ tEcHnOmAn ~~~
technoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 09:07 AM   #10
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: AOE III: My point

I'm still with AOE Rise of Rome
__________________

lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0