Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2009, 11:54 AM   #1
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to root_assassin
Default Anyone use amtrak?

in a few months im gunna be taking a very long train ride, from Macomb illinois to San Bernadino california. the estimated time is 40hrs+ oneway so 80hrs+ all together. Iv never rode amtrak b4 i usually fly. So for those of you who use amtrak. Wat do i have to do for 80hrs on the train? and how is the accomidations?
__________________

root_assassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 12:05 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

Quote:
Originally Posted by root_assassin View Post
in a few months im gunna be taking a very long train ride, from Macomb illinois to San Bernadino california. the estimated time is 40hrs+ oneway so 80hrs+ all together. Iv never rode amtrak b4 i usually fly. So for those of you who use amtrak. Wat do i have to do for 80hrs on the train? and how is the accomidations?
Amtrak trains are great. I love them, and when I travel for leisure, I almost always choose Amtrak over planes.

I would suggest bringing a laptop with a charger, as they do have outlets near each seat. You can play some games, watch a movie, or play it old-fashioned and just read.
__________________

Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 12:13 PM   #3
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to root_assassin
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

thank god they have outlets for my laptop.
root_assassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 07:20 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Kage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13,873
Send a message via MSN to Kage
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

80 hours on a train?! Wow...
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro / Q6600 G0 / Zalman 9700 / 8800GTS 640mb / 4x 2GB Corsair XMS / X-FI Xtreme M / 1x 1TB / Antec 900 / Logitech Z-5500 / Samsung 20inch
Kage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 07:55 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

Its really comfortable. Hang out in the lounge car and meet people.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 08:23 PM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
Ronspc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to Ronspc
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

80 hrs is a beyotch tho. Wow 40, thats whats day and 1/3
__________________
Dell motherboard, 2 hard drives 8600GT AMD Athlon

WWW.INSANITECHPC.COM
Ronspc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 08:53 PM   #7
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to root_assassin
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

yea 80 hours is gunna be brutal i hope the seats are comfy
root_assassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 09:31 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

Did you just buy a seat or did you get a cabin with a bed?....If you are just in a seat it's going to be a looooooonnnggggggg ride.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 10:58 PM   #9
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 61
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

How Ironic is that I'm deathly scared of trains, but I love riding on them?
__________________
2009 Dell Studio 540 - Factory Upgraded:
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU @ 2.33 GHz
4g Ram
NVIDIA 9800gt
320 hdd
Adam91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 11:25 PM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
Ronspc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to Ronspc
Default Re: Anyone use amtrak?

quite ironic adam lol
__________________

__________________
Dell motherboard, 2 hard drives 8600GT AMD Athlon

WWW.INSANITECHPC.COM
Ronspc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0