Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2009, 06:12 AM   #11
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Anyone know how to bypass the time limit on Mega Video?

Yeah ok so im a bit naughty trying to bypass it but im just really... ummm.. yeah ok i admit it im just way too obsessed with Supernatural and yeah ok, too cheap to pay for the site, which is kinda illegal in itself anyway isnt it?

Anyway, Im actually absolutely clueless about computers n stuff so I have no idea what VPN or SSH Tunneling are or how to use them, so i guess im kinda screwed here.. i'll prob just go get the DVDs LOL. But if anyone is patient enough to explain to a computer-idiot how the VPN or SSH Tunneling works or another way to bypass the MV time limit, it would be freaking awesome
__________________

Oh.Jenni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 06:38 AM   #12
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Anyone know how to bypass the time limit on Mega Video?

You'll need a Shell account of some description to do that. They can be pretty cheap (Like $2 a month?). Google them...

Basically, you use a client on your PC called PuTTY, and tunnel port 80 over port 8080... You then use a program called Proxifier that will make every application on your computer use port 8080, so it tunnels all of your traffic THROUGH your server, which has a different IP.

Of course, this IP will have the same restrictions as your computer's IP, so you would need to cycle between using YOUR IP address, and your Servers IP address.

I personally use my VPS and PuTTY/SSH to watch Hulu in the UK - It's pretty smooth.

Also: Some ISP's (Allthough not many...) Let you have a block of IP addresses. I personally have 8, which means I can change my IP from one to another, which get's around their block.
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 07:28 AM   #13
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,471
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Re: Anyone know how to bypass the time limit on Mega Video?

Would you mind posting a link to the servers you use for SSH/VPN J03?
__________________
Desktop:BitFenix Survivor~Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3R~ i7 2600K @ 4hz~AMD 6870 1GB~12gb Team Elite DDR3 1333~3xWD In RAID5~W7 Ult
Laptop:Alienware M11x~ i7-2637M 1.7GHz~16GB 1333MHz DDR3~GeForce GT 540M~W7 Ult
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 08:03 AM   #14
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Anyone know how to bypass the time limit on Mega Video?

j03 - Thanks for all that! It looks way too complicated for me tho.. LOL I was just hoping someone would tell me to delete a couple of cookies or like change some internet explorer settings or something..

Think I might just have to go get the DVD.. lol
Oh.Jenni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 08:20 AM   #15
j03
~~~~~~~~
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 5,556
Send a message via MSN to j03
Default Re: Anyone know how to bypass the time limit on Mega Video?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neodude112320 View Post
Would you mind posting a link to the servers you use for SSH/VPN J03?
I dont use VPN myself (SSH tunnelling all the way, immensely complex VPN set-ups FTL!), but I got an INSANE deal on a VPS. I will grab the link for you now, if I can find it...

http://2host.com/wht.php

It's hosted on a dual quad Xeon machine, you get 10GB HDD space and 512MB ram, along with 300GB bandwidth. For $5 a month.

You could also get a Shell account from somewhere like Santrex, but IMO for an extra $2-3 a month you should get a VPS. You get complete control.

Bare in mind, that when you are streaming Hulu through it, the VPS is downloading from the Hulu servers, and then UPLOADING to you, so it uses twice the bandwidth.

I wouldnt really reccomend you getting a VPS for Megavideo, because it only delays the inevitable. But if your outside the US and want to take advantage of sites like Hulu, then a $5/m VPS is well worth the money!

I chose to run Debian 5 on mine, since it's similar to Ubuntu. CentOS came with it by default - It was OK, but I preferred Debian. CentOS used less ram, but Debian by no means hog's it.

Of course, I had to install swanky graphing software on it:- http://vps.redfern.me/munin/redfern....edfern.me.html

edit: If that link is down, then it's because my VPS OS has been re-installed. I will be re-installing Munin soon
__________________

j03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0